Philip Ricci Named Most Valuable Player of the Team

April 8, 2003

Corvallis, Ore. - Oregon State University senior men's basketball player Philip Ricci has been selected the program's Ralph Miller Award recipient for the second consecutive season, head coach Jay John announced Tuesday. The Miller Award signifies the program's Most Valuable Player.

The 6-7 Ricci concluded the season leading the team in scoring at 16.5 points per game, rebounding at 8.2, field goal percentage at .520, and blocked shots with 34. He ranked among the top-10 in the conference in all four of those categories, including leading the league for rebounding. Ricci is the first back-to-back Miller Award recipient since Brent Barry in 1994 and '95.

Freshman guard Lamar Hurd earned the Lew Beck Award for the outstanding newcomer. Hurd started all 28 games, led the team for average minutes played with 33.4, and was the team leader for assists at 3.8 per game. He ranked seventh in the conference for assists and his 934 total minutes is second in OSU history for a freshman.

The Jim Anderson Award, signifying the most improved player, went to sophomore forward David Lucas. Lucas started the last three games of the season and appeared in the final 18 overall. He averaged 6.6 points per game and shot .510 from the field.

Senior forward Brian Jackson and sophomore guard J.S. Nash garnered the final three awards. Jackson received the Slats Gill Award for pride for the second time in three years and the Ed Lewis Award for leadership. Nash accepted the Paul Valenti Award for desire and determination.

The awards were voted on by the 2002-2003 team members.

2002-2003 OREGON STATE TEAM AWARDSRalph Miller Award (MVP) - Philip RicciLew Beck Award (Newcomer) - Lamar HurdJim Anderson Award (Improved) - David LucasSlats Gill Award (Pride) - Brian JacksonEd Lewis Award (Leadership) - Brian JacksonPaul Valenti Award (Determination) - J.S. Nash
Now on Pac-12 Network
3:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network