Men's Golf Hosts Thunderbird Invitational Friday and Saturday

April 9, 2003

The Arizona State men's golf team plays host on April 11-12 (Friday-Saturday) to the 31st annual ASU Thunderbird Invitational at ASU's Karsten Golf Course (par-72, 7,037 yards). The 18 schools will play 36 holes on Friday, April 11, followed by a final round on Saturday, April 12. ASU has won three of the past four (1999-2001) Thunderbird Invitationals and has won the tournament 10 of the past 14 years. Last year, Texas shot a tournament record 32-under 832 to beat ASU by six strokes while Bret Guetz of TCU set the tournament record with a 16-under 200 (68-65-67).

ASU has won the Thunderbird Invitational 11 times (1984, 1989, 1990, 1991, 1992, 1994, 1996, 1997, 1999, 2000 and 2001). Eight times Sun Devils have won the individual title: Mark Sollenberger (1974), Jim Carter (1984), Phil Mickelson (1991 and 1992), Larry Barber (1994), Todd Demsey (1995), Jeff Quinney (1999) and Paul Casey (2000).

The 18 competing teams are: Arizona, ASU, BYU, Colorado, Houston, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Oregon, Oregon State, Pepperdine, San Diego State, Stanford, Texas, TCU, UCLA, UNLV, USC and Washington State. There will be a shotgun start on Friday at 7:30 a.m. while Saturday's regular tee-times from holes 1 and 10 will begin at 7 a.m.

ASU has finished in the top five at the NCAAs in five of the past eight years and has won the Pac-10 title six of the past eight years. The Sun Devils also won national championships in 1990 and 1996. ASU is led by 11th-year head coach Randy Lein, the 1996 National Coach of the Year and a seven-time winner of Pac-10 Coach of the Year (five times at ASU and twice at USC).

ASU NOTES HEADING INTO T-BIRD: Sun Devil freshman Alejandro Canizares won the National Invitational Tournament in Tucson on March 30-April 1 with a 4-under 212 (69-73-70). He became the first Sun Devil to win a tournament since Matt Jones tied for the NCAA West Regional title in 2001. He is the first freshman to win a title since Paul Casey won the 1998 West Regional...current sophomore Pat Moore finished tied for fourth at last year's ASU Thunderbird Invitational with a 9-under 207 (67-64-76)...current junior Chez Reavie missed last year's ASU Thunderbird Invitational as he was playing in the Masters via his 2001 U.S. Public Links Championship...ASU has finished first or second at its tournament every year beginning with 1994...Paul Casey is the last Sun Devil to win the tournament with his 9-under 207 in 2000.

CHEZ REAVIE: The 2001 U.S. Public Links Champion...a top-10 finisher in 12 of 25 career events...has finished in the top 10 in seven of nine tournaments this year...also won the 2001 Mesa City Championship by eight strokes...tied for fourth at the 2001 NCAA Championships after shooting a 7-under 281 (71-67-74-69).

Year	App	Top 10	Rds.	Avg.	Low2002-03	9	7	27	71.70	672001-02	6	3	19	73.37	672000-01	10	2	31	72.58	67Career	25	12	43	72.47	67

THUNDERBIRD/SAVANE INVITATIONAL CHAMPIONSYear Champion/ASU Finish Individual Champion1973 Long Beach St. (ASU-5th) Lance Suzuki, BYU1974 Oklahoma St.(ASU-2nd) Mark Sollenberger, ASU1975 BYU (ASU T-2nd) Scott Simpson, USC1976 BYU (ASU-3rd) John Fought, BYU1977 Oklahoma St. (ASU-2nd) Lindy Miller, OSU1978 BYU (ASU-2nd) Curt Worley, SDSU1979 UCLA (ASU-2nd) Corey Pavin, UCLA1980 BYU (ASU-2nd) Bob Clampett, BYU1981 San Jose State (ASU-3rd) Steve Jones, Colorado1982 BYU (ASU-3rd) Storm Gleib, Weber State1983 Oklahoma St. (1,083) (ASU-11th) Willie Wood, Oklahoma State (211)1984 ASU Jim Carter , ASU1985 Fresno State (1,106) (ASU-5th) Howard Johnson, San Diego State (209)1986 BYU (1,072) (ASU-2nd) Eduardo Herrera , BYU (207)1987 UCLA (1,100) (ASU-4th) David Sutherland, FSU (211)1988 Oklahoma St. (853) (ASU-4th) Michael Bradley, OSU (141)1989 ASU 'B' (864/E) (ASU 'A'-2nd) Aaron Bengoechea, Pacific (202/-14)1990 ASU (846/-18) Ramon Brobio, BYU (209/-7)1991 ASU (840/-24) Phil Mickelson, ASU (204/-12)1992 ASU (854/-10) Phil Mickelson, ASU (209/-7)1993 UA(850/-14) (ASU-3rd) David White, Arkansas (208/-8)1994 ASU (859/-5) Larry Barber, ASU (205/-11)1995 Arkansas (867/+3) (ASU-2nd) Todd Demsey, ASU (213/-3)1996 ASU (864/E) Lonnie Damon, BYU (214/-2)1997 ASU (854/-10) Jeff Mixon, Oklahoma (209/-7)1998 UCLA (867/+13) (ASU-2nd) Brandon Ditullio, UCLA (211/-5)1999 ASU (834/-30) Jeff Quinney, ASU (201/-15)2000 ASU (846/-18) Paul Casey, ASU (207/-9)2001 ASU (839/-25) Anders Hultman, Okla. St. (206/-10)2002 Texas (832/-32) Bret Guetz, TCU (200/-16)


TEAM TOTAL SCORE1. Texas 32-under 832 in 20022. ASU 30-under 834 in 19993. ASU 26-under 838 in 2002T4. Pepperdine 25-under 839 in 2002T4. ASU 25-under 839 in 20016. ASU 24-under 840 in 19917. Oregon 21-under 843 in 2002T8. Arizona 19-under 845 in 2002T8. TCU 19-under 845 in 2002T8. Texas 19-under 845 in 2001

INDIVIDUAL TOTAL SCORE1. Bret Guetz (TCU) 16-under 200 in 20022. Jeff Quinney (ASU) 15-under 201 in 19993. Aaron Bengoechea (Pacific) 14-under 202 in 19894. John Klauk (Texas) 13-under 203 in 20025. Phil Mickelson (ASU) 12-under 204 in 1991T6. Chris Carnahan (Oregon) 11-under 205 in 2002T6. Larry Barber (ASU) 11-under 205 in 1994

ASU MEN'S GOLF(Tourn.-Rds.-Avg.)

Alejandro Canizares5-10/Fr./Manilva, Spain4-12-71.75

Kendall Critchfield5-8/So./Mesa, Ariz.4-12-74.17

Mike Derminio6-3/Jr./Scottsdale, Ariz.5-15-75.33

Ben Flam5-10/Jr./Phoenix, Ariz.8-24-73.21

Gurbaaz Mann6-2/Fr./Chandigarh, India1-3-78.67

Shane McMenamy5-10/Sr./Grand Forks, N.D.1-3-76.00

Pat Moore6-1/So./Phoenix, Ariz.2-6-74.33

Jesse Mueller5-8/So./Mesa, Ariz.7-21-74.00

Lenny Park5-7/Fr./Sochko, Korea1-3-76.00

Chez Reavie5-7/So./Mesa, Ariz.9-27-71.70

Brady Stockton6-3/Sr./San Ramon, Calif.5-15-73.33

TOURNAMENT DATE (SITE) RESULT/NOTESTOPY Cup 9/2-4 (Tokyo, Japan) 7th/Chez Reavie T-9thFresno State Classic 10/11-12 (Fresno, Calif.) 8th/Brady Stockton T-14thDuke Invitational 10/21-22 (Durham, N.C.) 4th/Jesse Mueller 7thArizona/Ping Inter. 2/3-4 (Tucson, Ariz.) T-6th/Chez Reavie 9thTaylor Made Inter. 2/13-15 (Waikoloa, Hawaii) T-7th/Chez Reavie 8thUSC/Southwestern Classic 3/3-4 (Westlake Village, Calif.) T-4th/A. Canizares T-13thUNLV Toyota Invit. 3/7-9 (Las Vegas, Nev.) 6th/Chez Reavie T-10thMorris Williams Invit. 3/17-18 (Austin, Texas) 5th/Chez Reavie T-5thNational Invit. 3/30-4/1 (Tucson, Ariz.) 5th/A. Canizares 1stASU Thunderbird Invit. 4/11-12 (Tempe, Ariz.) ASU has won 3 of past 4Pac-10 Championships 4/28-30 (Los Angeles, Calif.) ASU 11-time champsNCAA West Regionals 5/15-17 (Auburn, Wash.) ASU 5-time champsNCAA Championships 5/28-31 (Stillwater, Okla.) ASU champs in '90 and '96

Now on Pac-12 Network
10:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder