Jennifer Joyce Wins Hammer Throw at Brutus Hamilton Invite

April 11, 2003

BERKELEY- - Former University of California track and field star Jennifer Joyce and Kevin McMahon of the NY Athletic Club won the hammer throw event in the first day of competition at the sixth annual Brutus Hamilton Memorial Invitational. The invitational is hosted by Cal at Edwards Stadium Friday-Saturday, Apr. 11-12.

Joyce, a volunteer assistant throws coach for Cal, won the women's hammer throw with a toss of 202-9. Joyce is the Golden Bears' all-time top hammer thrower, setting the school record at 214-0. Current Cal athletes, sophomore Tamrya d'Artenay, freshman Carrie Johnson and senior Sheni Russell also competed in the finals. d'Artenay finished fourth with a throw of 158-2, and Russell finished behind her in fifth-place (155-0). Johnson placed sixth with a toss of 152-7. Russell and Johnson both competed as unattached athletes. Junior Jenna Johnson notched a mark of 131-6 in the first round of throws.

On the men's side, McMahon won the hammer with a throw of 243-0. Cal was represented by redshirt freshman Rhuben Williams who finished in seventh-place with a toss of 192-0, and senior Zech Whittington whose best throw was a mark of 177-1. Williams' best mark of the season was a 195-0 throw at the Florida Relays that met both NCAA regional and Pac-10 Championships qualifying standards.

The Brutus Hamilton Invitational continues tomorrow, Saturday, Apr. 12 with the rest of the field and running events contested. Field events begin at 11 a.m. with the women's javelin and conclude with the women's high jump at 3:30 p.m. The first running event is the women's 4x100-meter relay at 1 p.m., while the final gun of the day is the men's 4x400m relay at 5:10 p.m.

Check for a complete recap and results from the Brutus Hamilton Memorial Invitational Saturday, Apr. 12.

Brutus Hamilton Memorial Invitational-Friday, Apr. 11
Hammer Results

1. Kevin McMahon, NYAC, 243-0; 2. James Parker, Air Force, 240-4; 3. Travis Nutter, unattached, 231-4; 4. William Beauchamp, GatorTC, 230-5; 5. Nick Welihozhiy, unattached, 214-4; 6. Robert Linkul, Sacramento State, 193-1; 7. Rhuben Williams, California, 192-0; 8. Robert Rubio, UC Davis, 182-6; 9. Zech Whittington, unattached, 177-1; 10. Russ Jensen, San Francisco State, 170-6; 11. Ryan Frank, UC Davis, 161-4; 12. Joel Johnson, Sacramento State, 159-9; 13. Mike Thompson, UC Davis, 140-1; 14. Ron Tilton, Sacramento State, 129-9; 15. Francisco Castaneda, San Francisco State, 102-0. Geoffrey Fong, Sacramento State, Foul.

1. Jennifer Joyce, Oakley Golden Bear AC, 202-9; 2. Cammie Carroll, unattached, 164-1; 3. Katy Elsbury, Stanford, 162-8; 4. Tamrya d'Artenay, California, 158-2; 5. Sheni Russell, unattached, 155-0; 6. Carrie Johnson, unattached 152-7; 7. Lindsay Brisbin, Stanford, 142-1; 8. Alicia Cruz, UC Davis, 138-6; 9. Bernadette Purtle, UC Davis, 137-1; 10. Janine Dickey, Sacramento State, 135-7; 11. Maureen Pacheco, UC Davis, 132-6; 12. Jenna Johnson, California, 131-6; 13. Desiree Bradberry, San Francisco State, 131-0; 14. Laura Cadranel, Sacramento State, 126-11; 15. Kate Birkmaier, Sacramento State, 125-2; 16. Laura Caldwell, San Francisco State, 93-0; 17. Christina Bolaris, San Francisco State, 90-10.

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:45 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder