Jason Gardner Wins Frances Pomeroy Naismith Award

April 16, 2003

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. - University of Arizona men's basketball player Jason Gardner has been named the winner of the 2003 male Frances Pomeroy Naismith Award, it was announced Wednesday by the Basketball Hall of Fame and the National Association of Basketball Coaches.

Gardner won the award, which is presented annually to the nation's most outstanding senior six-foot and under. He joins Sean Elliott (1989) and Jason Terry (1999) as the only University of Arizona players to earn Player-of-the-Year accolades.

'It is a great honor to be named player of the year, especially from the Basketball Hall of Fame,' said Gardner. 'It's nice to be included on this list with so many other great players from the past.'

The highest-scoring guard in Arizona history, Gardner, a 5-foot-10, 191-pound native of Indianapolis, Ind., averaged 14.8 points, 4.0 rebounds and 4.9 assists in 32 games this season. He averaged a team-best 34.9 minutes per game, shot 39.2 percent from the field, including 33.2 percent from three-point range. Gardner scored in double figures in 24 of 32 games and passed out at least five assists in a game 17 times in 2002-03. He is the only Arizona player to register at least one double-figure point, rebound and assist game this season.

Gardner was named all-Pacific-10 Conference for the third time in his career on March 10. He earned All-America accolades from the John R. Wooden Award, United States Basketball Writers Association, National Association of Basketball Coaches, Associated Press, and the Senior CLASS Award. Gardner received All-America accolades 10 times in his four-year career.

A starter in 135 of 136 career games played, Gardner finished his career with 1,984 career points scored (14.6 ppg), 462 rebounds (3.4 rpg), 622 assists (4.6 apg) and 225 steals (1.7 spg). He is the Arizona career leader in games played (136), games started (135), minutes played (4,825), average minutes per game (35.5), three-point field goals (318) and three-point field goal attempts (875), while ranking among the career top 10 in seven other statistical categories.

One of only four Pac-10 players in history to amass 1,500 career points, 500 assists and 200 steals, Gardner led Arizona to a 107-29 (.786) record. In his four-year career, Gardner led the Wildcats to the 2001 national championship game, won two Pac-10 regular season titles and one Pac-10 postseason tournament championship.

The Gardner-led Wildcats (28-4 overall, 17-1 Pac-10) finished the season ranked No. 2 by the Associated Press. The club won the 2003 Pacific-10 Conference regular season championship, qualified to the NCAA Tournament for the 19th consecutive season and advanced to the West Regional final.

Established for men in 1969, the Frances Pomeroy Naismith Award is named in honor of James Naismith's daughter-in-law. The award is selected by a panel from the National Association of Basketball Coaches. Past winners include Monte Towe, North Carolina State (1975); Ray McCallum, Ball State (1983); Tyrone Bogues, Wake Forest (1987); Tim Hardaway, UTEP (1989); Tyus Edney, UCLA (1995); Brevin Knight, Stanford (1997); and Steve Logan, Cincinnati (2002).

Frances Pomeroy Naismith Award Winners

1969	William Keller, Purdue1970	John Rinka, Kenyon1971	Charlie Johnson, California1972	Scott Martin, Oklahoma1973	Robert Sherwin, Army1974	Mike Robinson, Michigan State1975	Monte Towe, North Carolina State1976	Frank Alagia, St. John's1977	Jeff Jonas, Utah1978	Mike Schieb, Susquehanna1979	Alton Byrd, Columbia1980	Jim Sweeney, Boston College1981	Terry Adolph, West Texas State1982	Jack Moore, Nebraska1983	Ray McCallum, Ball State1984	Ricky Stokes, Virginia1985	Bubba Jennings, Texas Tech1986	Jim Les, Bradley1987	Tyrone Bogues, Wake Forest1988	Jerry Johnson, Florida Southern1989	Tim Hardaway, Texas-El Paso1990	Greg Harvey, St. John's1991	Keith Jennings, East Tennessee State1992	Tony Bennett, Wisconsin-Green Bay1993	Sam Crawford, New Mexico State1994	Greg Brown, New Mexico1995	Tyus Edney, UCLA1996	Eddie Benton, Vermont1997	Brevin Knight, Stanford1998	Earl Boykins, Eastern Michigan1999	Shawnta Rogers, George Washington2000	Scoonie Penn, Ohio State2001	Rashad Phillips, Detroit2002	Steve Logan, Cincinnati2003	Jason Gardner, Arizona

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network