Mayorkas and Conway Named to U.S. Team

April 18, 2003

UCLA sophomore Charlotte Mayorkas, the nation's fifth ranked female golfer, and Steve Conway, the nation's 35th ranked male golfer, have been selected by the National Golf Coaches Assn. and the Golf Coaches Assn. of America to represent the United States in the Fuji Xerox U.S. vs. Japan Collegiate Golf Championship matches this summer.

The 12-member team, consisting of eight men and four women, will compete July 15-16 at Verde Sano Country Club in Tochigi, Japan. The U.S. Team leads the all-time series, 20-7, and has won seven straight.

Mayorkas won her first college event, the ASU Invitational two weeks ago at the Karsten Golf Course. She fired rounds of 66-71-72-209, seven-under par, and set school records for lowest individual round and best 54-hole score. Mia Loejdahl held the previous 54-hole record of 212 set in 1993 and Amandine Vincent held the previous 18 score of 67 set in 1995.

For her efforts, she was named student-athlete of the week. She leads the Bruins in scoring average at 73.5 and has placed among the Top 10 individuals in her last five tournaments.

'Being selected to the U.S. Team is a great honor,' said UCLA Head Coach Carrie Leary. 'Charlotte has been playing as well as anyone in the country.'

Mayorkas joins Leigh Ann Hardin and Elizabeth Janangelo of Duke and Jessica Reese of Texas on the U.S. Team.

Conway has won twice this season to become UCLA's first multiple tournament winner since Byron Schlagenhauf in 1999. He leads the Bruins in scoring average at 71.0, rounds under par (12) and rounds under 70 (11). His victory in the Cleveland Classic, Mar. 4, was his first career victory and the Bruins' first individual victory in four years. He earned GolfWorld National Player of the Week honors, for the week of Mar. 1-8. His one-stroke victory in the Western Intercollegiate Apr. 8, gave him two outright titles for the first time since Rich Greenwood in 1987. (Schlagenhauf won twice in 1999, but tied for first once.)

Conway will be joined by Andrew Dahl of Arkansas, Jack Ferguson and Matt Hendrix of Clemson, Chico State's J.J. Jakovac, Tom Johnson of Northwestern, Auburn's Jay Mundy and Ryan Quinn of Wisconsin-Eau Claire.

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder