Skip to main content

Spencer Takes Home Coaches Award

Apr 20, 2003

Broomfield, Colo. - The University of Colorado women's basketball team and almost 400 friends, family and fans of the program gathered at the Omni Interlocken Resort Hotel on Sunday night in Broomfield to honor the 2002-03 season and the CU senior class.

In a three-hour banquet filled with emotion, Colorado's staff and players said goodbye to the three seniors, looked ahead to next season and remembered the last one with speeches, awards and the highlight video.

Team captain and senior Diana Spencer was awarded with the prestigious Coaches Award to a standing ovation. The honor, which recognizes attitude, leadership, desire and commitment to the principles of Colorado Basketball, was started in 1983, Ceal Barry's first season at Colorado and has been awarded every year since.

Tera Bjorklund, the team's leading scorer at 18.5 points per game this season, took home Most Valuable Offensive Player honors for the second year in a row, while junior guard Maria Billingsley was named the team's Most Valuable Defensive Player. Rookie of the Year honors went to freshman Amber Metoyer, while sophomore Sarah Lini was named the team's Most Improved Player and Veronica Johns-Richardson won the Sixth Player Award.

Linda Lappe garnered two honors, the Crystal Adams Scholar-Athlete award for her 3.6 cumulative grade point average, as well as the Unsung Hero Award for contributions without recognition. The latter honor earned a standing ovation for Lappe, who after leading her team as a freshman in almost every statistical category was marred by injury for the past four seasons.

Lappe wasn't the only player to take home two awards, as Kate Fagan was named the Free Throw Champion after setting a new CU and Big 12 Record with 44-consecutive free throws, as well as the recipient of the Take Charge Award for leading the team in drawing charges. Sabrina Scott earned the Chairwoman of the Boards award for the third time in four years after leading CU with a 6.9 rpg average.

Following the presentation of awards, seniors Lappe, Scott and Spencer gave their traditional final remarks to the crowd. The class led the Buffaloes to their second-straight Sweet 16 and graduate with three-consecutive NCAA Tournament appearances in their final three seasons.

2003 Colorado Basketball Postseason Awards
Crystal Adams Scholar Athlete Award - Linda Lappe
Rookie of the Year - Amber Metoyer
Chairwoman of the Boards - Sabrina Scott
Most Valuable Offensive Player - Tera Bjorklund
Most Improved Player - Sarah Lini
Free Throw Champion - Kate Fagan
Sixth Player - Veronica Johns-Richardson
Take Charge Award - Kate Fagan
Most Valuable Defensive Player - Maria Billingsley
Unsung Hero Award - Linda Lappe
Coaches Award - Diana Spencer