Men's Tennis to Battle Pac-10's Best

April 23, 2003

EUGENE - The No. 66 Oregon men's tennis team heads to Ojai, Calif., for the Pac-10 Championships, which begin Thursday. Four singles players and two doubles tandems will play in the championship draws at the four-day event, which will feature 13 ranked singles players and four ranked doubles pairs.

Sophomore Manuel Kost, who jumped 17 spots in this week's rankings to No. 46, leads the Ducks in the singles draw. Kost will play Arizona State's Chris Letcher in the first round. Kost is coming off a straight-set victory against then-No. 10 Alex Vlaski of Washington.

Senior Oded Teig, who holds the Oregon career record for singles victories with 69, will play Cal's Or Dekel in the first round Thursday. Teig and Dekel did not play this season, but Dekel did defeat teammate Sven Swinnen in the dual match in a tough three-setter.

Swinnen will have his hands full in the first round against No. 27 Matt Hanlin of Washington. Just last week, Hanlin knocked off Teig in three sets to clinch Washington's 4-3 victory against the Ducks. Also playing in the championship draw will be freshman Thomas Bieri, who will take on Washington's Vlaski, now ranked No. 18, in the first round.

Swinnen and Teig will team up to face Cal's tandem of Patrick Briaud and John Paul Fruttero in the first round of the doubles draw. Also in the championship bracket will be the Swiss connection of Bieri and Kost, who combined for a 9-7 record this season. Bieri and Kost will play Cal's No. 1 tandem of Steve Berke and Robert Kowalczyk, the No. 7-ranked pair in the country, in the first round.

Oregon has four other players that will participate at the tournament in a separate draw - Chris King, Jason Menke, Arron Spencer and Andrew Walker. Menke will play with Spencer in doubles while King will pair with Walker. All four will play in singles action as well.

The NCAA will announce its selections for the individual and team championships on April 30. The Ducks last went to the NCAA Championships as a team in 2000.

Now on Pac-12 Network
4:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder