No. 1 Bears Head North to Face Rival No. 2 Washington in Dual Race

April 23, 2003

BERKELEY - The California and Washington oarsmen look forward to this weekend every year. In recent times this race has been an indicator for the strongest crew in the country and a precursor to the IRA championships. This year is no different. The two powerhouses will meet Saturday on the Montlake Cut in Lake Washington and do battle over 2000 meters. California is coming off a fifth straight win in the San Diego Crew Classic where they beat Washington by little over a second.

The Golden Bear rowers remember last season when Washington ended the impressive streak that started in 1998. They have been preparing for a different result ever since. 'We race the Huskies hard every time, like it is our last race of the season.' Said Cal coach Steve Gladstone. 'Our men work extremely hard preparing for this race and the tough Washington crew. These races are always down to the wire.'

HISTORY: Washington leads the varsity eight series 65-26-1 since 1903.

LAST WEEK FOR WASHINGTON: The third-ranked Wisconsin men's varsity eight won by nearly a boat length April 19th capturing the W Cup for the first time in the 11-year history of the dual regatta.

THE CUP: The men's varsity eight winner takes home the Schoch Cup, named after Delos Schoch of Washington's class of 1936. The women's varsity eight victor receives the inaugural Simpson Cup. The Simpson Cup replaces the Big Oar trophy that is being retired after 22 years.

TIME: 9:00 AM Saturday, April 26.


Varsity Eight

Shawn Ghatan coxJeffrey Nalty Str.Robert Austerman 7Ian McGowan 6Mladen Stegic 5Filip Filipic 4Ivan Smiljanic 3Christopher Kennelly 2Toby Smith bow

JV Eight

Joseph Manion coxRobert Deppisch Str.Rob Curran 7Michael Wallin 6Jesse Bauman 5Magnus Fleming 4Brett Winfield 3Janik Gasiorowski 2Troy Kepper bow

Varsity Four+

Bracknell Baker coxDeaglan McEachern strPaul O'Sullivan 3Marcel Staedter 2Max Frasca bow

Novice Eight

Adam Moss coxChris Rubini str.Elliot Hovey 7Colin Arnold 6David Puder 5Vaclav Voshoska 4Peter Maiden 3Gary Champagne 2David James bow

SAN DIEGO WRAP UP: The Bears stroked to victory in the Copley Cup grand final for the fifth straight year, defeating rival Washington by 1.09 seconds. The eight, comprised of: Shawn Ghatan, Rob Curran, Filip Filipic, Toby Smith, Ian McGowan, Ivan Smiljanic, Michael Wallin, Mladen Stegic, and Jeffrey Nalty proved to be the better movers down the stretch. OSU was third, followed by Temple, UC Davis, Stanford, and USC.The JV A squad also notched a victory in the Sharp Cabrillo grand final, beating Washington by 2.37 seconds. the A was comprised of: Joseph Manion, Troy Kepper, Max Frasca, Magnus Fleming, Janik Gasiorowski, Jesse Bauman, Brett Winfield, Robert Austerman, and Christopher Kennelly. Cal's JV B also finished well in fourth place with a time of 6:14.78. OSU was third, Stanford fifth, and Minnesota sixth.

CAL IN 2003: The 2003 varsity eight hopes to be part of what has become a Dynasty at Cal, going for their fifth straight national title. The varsity eight has lost only once in the past four seasons. They will be defending their Pac-10 and Intercollegiate Rowing Association titles. It is clear that the Bears' consistency has been attributed to their dedication, mental toughness, physical conditioning and maturity. These four benchmarks have defined Cal in the past, and will play a key role in winning a fifth championship.

COACH GLADSTONE: Regarded as one of the premier rowing coaches in the United States, Gladstone enters his seventh year in his second stint as head coach of the men's crew. In 2002, Gladstone guided the Bears varsity and JV eights to IRA gold. It was the fourth year in a row his varsity eight won the Intercollegiate Rowing Association title. Gladstone was recognized as Pac-10 Men's Rowing Coach of the Year for the fifth consecutive season in 2002. During his previous tenure at Cal from 1973-80, Gladstone guided the Bears to three undefeated dual-race seasons, an IRA title, and a Pac-10 championship. With a total of nine IRA Varsity Challenge Cup titles to his credit, Gladstone currently ranks second in all-time varsity championships behind only Charles 'Pop' Courtney, who won 11 titles at Cornell between 1901 and 1915.

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network