2002-03 Women's Basketball Awards

April 25, 2003

TEMPE, Ariz. - The Sun Devil women's basketball team handed out individual awards at ASU's annual season-end banquet last week in the Carson Ballroom at Old Main.

The Sun Devil players, coaches and fans celebrated the 2002-03 season in which the Sun Devils turned in a 16-14 record for their third straight winning season and earned a bid to the 2003 Women's National Invitation Tournament. That invitation marked the first time in school history that a Sun Devil squad has advanced to postseason play in four consecutive years. One of the youngest teams in the country, the Sun Devils had three players selected to the Pac-10 All-Freshman Team.

In addition, ASU honored its lone senior, guard Rainy Crisp, who ended her career after playing in 117 games and helping Arizona State to a school-record four consecutive postseason appearances, including back-to-back NCAA Tournament invitations in 2000 and 2001. She was the team's Most Improved Player on ASU's first ever Pac-10 Championship team in 2000 and an integral part of the squad which tied the school record for wins with a 25-9 mark and won the first ever Pac-10 Tournament Championship in 2002.

The Sun Devils return all five starters and a total of 10 letterwinners next season in addition to regaining the services of guard/forward Betsy Boardman and forward Alexis Tate who missed the 2002-03 season with knee injuries. Arizona State will also add a nationally ranked recruiting class next year.

Here is a list of awards earned by the Sun Devils this year:

Jen AlbertPac-10 All-Academic First Team (second straight year)Bill & Judy Schaefer Academic Achievement AwardTeam Captain AwardWells Fargo Holiday Classic All-Tournament Team

Carrie BucknerAll-Pac-10 Honorable MentionPac-10 All-Academic First TeamArthur Ashe Jr. Sports Scholar Second TeamTeam Captain AwardTeam Steals Leader Award

Amy DensonPac-10 All-Freshman First TeamTeam Rebounding Leader Award (co-winner)Wells Fargo Holiday Classic All-Tournament Team

Kristen KovesdyPac-10 All-Freshman Honorable MentionTeam Rebounding Leader Award (co-winner)Team Coach's Award

Kylan LoneyPac-10 All-Academic Honorable MentionTeam Captain AwardTeam Assists Leader AwardWells Fargo Holiday Classic Tournament MVP

Jill NoePac-10 All-Freshman First TeamTeam Scoring Leader AwardPac-10 Player of the Week (Dec. 16)Pac-10 Player of the Week (Jan. 6)

YoVanna RosenthalTeam Most Improved Award

Now on Pac-12 Network
11:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder