Friberg Named to All-Pac-10 Golf TeamMorgan A Second Team Pick

April 28, 2003

Walnut Creek, CA - Washington senior golfer Louis Friberg has been named a first-team selection to the all-Pac-10 Conference team. A native of Helsingborg, Sweden, Friberg leads the Huskies this season with a 74.7 stroke average. She placed in the top 10 of six of UW's 10 tournament's this year and was the Huskies top finisher in four events. Her best performance of the season came at the Arizona State Invitational where she placed third overall.

Friberg was a second-team All-Pac-10 selection last year. She becomes the fourth Husky player to earn first-team honors. Nancy Kessler (1988), Dodie Mazzuca (1996 & 1997) and Kelli Kamimura (1999 & 2001) where the other former UW players to receive the honor.

Husky junior Lindsay Morgan (Walla Walla) was a second-team All-Pac-10 selection. She was just behind Friberg in scoring this season with a 74.9 stroke average. Morgan had four top-10 finishes this year.

Washington freshman Sung Ea Lee (Tacoma) was an honorable mention selection. She was the Huskies top finisher at the Pac-10 Championships with a eighth-place showing.

Arizona's Erica Blasberg was named Pac-10 Golfer of the Year and Newcomer of the Year while California head coach Nancy McDaniel was named Pac-10 Coach of the Year.

Blasberg won two tournament events this year, including the Stanford Pepsi Intercollegiate (Oct. 18-20), and the Wildcat Invitational (Feb. 24-26).

McDaniel directed California to its first-ever Pac-10 title, and the Golden Bears' sixth tournament championship, which is tops the in nation. This season, California has finished in the top five in all 10 of its tournaments.


Name School Yr. Hometown
Erica Blasberg, Arizona Fr. Corona, Calif.
Louise Friberg, Washington Sr. Helsingborg, Sweden
Sarah Huarte, California Jr. Shingle Springs, Calif.
Vikki Laing, California Sr. Musselburgh, Scotland
Charlotte Mayorkas, UCLA So. Chula Vista, Calif.
Mikaela Parmlid, USC Sr. Gothenburg, Sweden


Name School Yr. Hometown
Becky Lucidi, USC Sr. San Diego, Calif.
Lindsay Morgan, Washington Jr. Walla Walla, Wash.
Susie Mathews, UCLA Fr. Adelaide, Australia
Ria Quiazon, California Sr. Union City, Calif.
Kim Rowton, Stanford Sr. San Antonio, Texas
Kim Welch, Washington State So. Sacramento, Calif.

Honorable Mention: Irene Cho, Fr., USC; Tanya Dergal, Fr., USC; Claire Dury, Jr., California; Sung Ea Lee, Fr., Washington; Hana Kim, Jr., UCLA; Maria Kostina, So., Washington State; Miriam Kraschinski, So., Arizona; Laura Myerscough, Sr., Arizona; Blair O'Neal, Sr., Arizona State; Sophia Sheridan, Fr., California; Mika Takayama, Fr., California; Gina Umeck, Jr., UCLA.

PAC-10 FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR: Erica Blasberg, Arizona

PAC-10 COACH OF THE YEAR: Nancy McDaniel, California

Now on Pac-12 Network
9:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder