Husky Women's Golfers Receive NCAA Regional Bid

April 28, 2003

Indianapolis - The 20th-ranked Washington women's golf team is the number nine seed in the West Region for the 2003 NCAA Golf Championships. The Huskies will compete at Arizona State's Karsten Golf Course May 8-10 with hopes of making their third consecutive trip to the NCAA Championships to be held at Purdue's Birck Boilermaker Golf Complex May 20-23.

Pepperdine is the number-one seed for the West Regional that includes a total of 21 teams and three at-large competitors. The top eight teams and top two individuals will advance from the three regional sites to the national championships. Duke, the defending NCAA Champions, are the number one seed in the East Regional to be held at Salem Glen Country Club in Winston-Salem, N.C.

California, which won the Pac-10 Championship, is the top seed in the Central Regional to be played at Firethorn Golf Club in Lincoln, Neb.

Last year the Huskies placed sixth at the NCAA West Regional, equaling their best finish in the event.

The regional sites and the selected teams and individuals are listed below.

East Regional
The East regional will be played May 8-10 at Salem Glen Country Club, Winston-Salem, North Carolina, hosted by Wake Forest University. Conference automatic qualifiers are indicated in parenthesis next to the institution.

1 Duke (Atlantic Coast Conference)
2 Arizona
3 Auburn (Southeastern Conference)
4 Vanderbilt
5 Wake Forest
6 Georgia
7 South Carolina
8 Tulane
9 North Carolina
10 Florida State
11 South Florida (Conference USA)
12 East Carolina
13 Furman
14 North Carolina-Wilmington (Big South Conference)
15 North Carolina State
16 Mississippi State
17 Penn State
18 Mississippi
19 Western Carolina (Southern Conference)
20 Georgia State (Atlantic Sun Conference)
21 St. Francis (Pennsylvania) (Northeast Conference)

1 Jenny Gleason, North Carolina-Greensboro
2 Tina Miller, Miami (Florida)
3 Avery Kiser, Princeton

Central Regional
The Central regional will be played May 8-10 at Firethorn Golf Club, Lincoln, Nebraska, hosted by the University of Nebraska, Lincoln. Conference automatic qualifiers are indicated in parenthesis next to the institution.

1 California (Pacific-10 Conference)
2 Texas
3 Florida
4 Tennessee
5 New Mexico (Mountain West Conference)
6 Tulsa (Western Athletic Conference)
7 Purdue
8 Oklahoma
9 Missouri
10 Baylor
11 TCU
12 Kent State (Mid-American Conference)
13 Michigan State
14 Arkansas
15 Texas A&M
16 Indiana
17 Wisconsin
18 Kansas State
19 Nebraska
20 Yale (Ivy Group)
21 Southern University (Southwestern Athletic Conference)

1 Randi Gauthier, North Texas
2 Louise Kenney, Iowa State
3 Elizabeth Burden, Northwestern

West Regional
The West regional will be played May 8-10 at Karsten Golf Course, Tempe, Arizona, hosted by Arizona State University. Conference automatic qualifiers are indicated in parenthesis next to the institution.

1 Pepperdine
2 Southern California
3 Oklahoma State (Big 12 Conference)
5 Ohio State (Big Ten Conference)
6 Arizona State
7 Stanford
8 New Mexico State (Sun Belt Conference)
9 Washington
11 San Francisco
12 San Jose State
13 Oregon State
14 Denver
15 Nevada
16 Illinois
17 Washington State
18 Oral Roberts (Mid-Continent Conference)
19 Cal State Northridge (Big West Conference)
20 Portland State (Big Sky Conference)
21 Bradley (Missouri Valley Conference)

1 Nicole Keller, Idaho
2 Stella Lee, UC Irvine
3 Erin Kerr, Colorado

Now on Pac-12 Network
8:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network