Kim Welch and Maria Kostina Honored with All-Conference Awards

April 28, 2003

CORVALLIS, Ore. - Washington State sophomore's Kim Welch and Maria Kostina were honored with all-conference awards as voted upon by the Pacific-10 women's golf coaches, Sunday, at the Pac-10 Conference Women's Golf Championships at Corvallis, Ore.

Welch was named to the All-Pac-10 second team for her stellar play at the Pac-10 Championships April 24-26 that earned her a ninth place finish, the highest by any WSU female golfer in the history of the program. In addition to her performance last weekend, Welch led the Cougars with a 75.2 average, ten Top 25 finishes, and seven Top 10 finishes this season.

Welch also captured national recognition by earning College National Player of Week accolades from GolfWorld magazine for the second consecutive year with the release of their March 21 issue of the magazine. Welch was honored after capturing the individual title at the Duck Invite March 11 by 14 strokes. Welch continues to rewrite the Cougar record books, gaining her second all-conference honor after becoming the first female golfer in WSU History to be named to the all-conference team last year.

Maria Kostina was honored with an Honorable Mention to the All-conference Team. Kostina, who joined the Cougars at the start of the spring season, has finished every tournament she has competed in as a Cougar in the Top 25 and will try and extend that streak to eight consecutive events at the NCAA West Regionals hosted by Arizona State. Kostina was second on the team in scoring average at 76, and already is second all-time for single season scoring average mark behind Welch's aforementioned 75.2.

Kostina came to the Cougars after having been one of the most successful Russian golfers over the last few years. Kostina was recognized by Golf Digest Magazine as 'The Best Russian Golfer' in 1999 & 2001.

Following are the 2002 Pacific-10 Women's Golf All-conference Teams:

First Team:

Erica Blasberg, Arizona
Mikaela Parmlid, USC
Charlotte Mayorkas, UCLA
Louise Friberg, Washington
Vikki Laing, California
Sarah Huarte, California

Second Team:

Becky Lucidi, USC
Kim Rowton, Stanford
Kim Welch, Washington State
Lindsay Morgan, Washington
Ria Quiazon, California
Susie Mathews, UCLA

Honorable Mention:

Mika Takayama, California
Gina Umeck, UCLA
Claire Dury, California
Tanya Dergal, USC
Laura Myerscough, Arizona
Maria Kostina, Washington State
Miriam Kraschinski, Arizona
Hana Kim, UCLA
Sung Ea Lee, Washington
Blair O'Neal, ASU
Sophia Sheridan, California
Irene Cho, USC

Golfer of the Year: Erica Blasberg, Arizona
Freshman of the Year: Erica Blasberg, Arizona
Coach of the Year: Nancy McDaniel, California

Now on Pac-12 Network
9:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder