Pac-10 Announces 2003 Women's Golf Awards

April 28, 2003


Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

ARIZONA's Erica Blasberg has been named Pac-10 Golfer of the Year and Newcomer of the Year while CALIFORNIA head coach Nancy McDaniel has been named Pac-10 Coach of the Year, in voting by the Pac-10 women's golf coaches, Commissioner Tom Hansen announced today.

A freshman from Corona, Calif., Blasberg helped the Wildcats to a second place finish in the 2003 Pac-10 Women's Golf Championships, held at Trysting Tree Golf Club in Corvallis, Ore. (April 24-26). Blasberg finished third overall, posting a 3-over-par 219. The finish was her sixth Top-5 effort of the season. Blasberg won two tournament events this year, including the Stanford Pepsi Intercollegiate (Oct. 18-20), and the Wildcat Invitational (Feb. 24-26).

McDaniel directed California to its first-ever Pac-10 title, and the Golden Bears' sixth tournament championship, which is tops the in nation. This season, California has finished in the Top-5 in nine of its ten tournaments. McDaniel has coached Cal to 16 first-place tournament finishes in her eight-year tenure, and has helped the Bears to NCAA Championships appearances in the last two seasons.


Name, School Yr. Hometown
Erica Blasberg, Arizona Fr. Corona, Calif.
Louise Friberg, Washington Sr. Helsingborg, Sweden
Sarah Huarte, California Jr. Shingle Springs, Calif.
Vikki Laing, California Sr. Musselburgh, Scotland
Charlotte Mayorkas, UCLA So. Chula Vista, Calif.
Mikaela Parmlid, USC Sr. Gothenburg, Sweden


Name, School Yr. Hometown
Becky Lucidi, USC Sr. San Diego, Calif.
Lindsay Morgan, Washington Jr. Walla Walla, Wash.
Susie Mathews UCLA Fr. Adelaide, Australia
Ria Quiazon, California Sr. Union City, Calif.
Kim Rowton, Stanford Sr. San Antonio, Texas
Kim Welch, Washington State So. Sacramento, Calif.

Honorable Mention: Irene Cho, Fr., USC; Tanya Dergal, Fr., USC; Claire Dury, Jr., California; Sung Ea Lee, Fr., Washington; Hana Kim, Jr., UCLA; Maria Kostina, So., Washington State; Miriam Kraschinski, So., Arizona; Laura Myerscough, Sr., Arizona; Blair O'Neal, Sr., Arizona State; Sophia Sheridan, Fr., California; Mika Takayama, Fr., California; Gina Umeck, Jr., UCLA.

PAC-10 FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR: Erica Blasberg, Arizona

PAC-10 COACH OF THE YEAR: Nancy McDaniel, California

Now on Pac-12 Network
4:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder