Stockton And Canizares Within Six Strokes Of Pac-10 Men's Golf Leaders After Three Rounds

April 29, 2003

The 16th-ranked Arizona State men's golf team is in fifth place with a 39-over 1,119 (378-365-376) after the first three rounds of the Pac-10 Championship held at Oakmont Country Club in Glendale, Calif.

Host UCLA leads the event with a 1-over 1,081 (364-362-255), while Sun Devils Brady Stockton (73-70-74=217, +1) and Alejandro Canizares (72-71-76=219, +3) are in contention for the individual lead. Stockton is sixth at 1-over 217 while Canizares is tied for ninth at 3-over 219. The leaders are at -3 213.

The event concludes with a single round on Wednesday.

Canizares is ranked 25th in the latest Golfweek poll and won the National Invitational Tournament in Tucson on March 30-April 1 with a 4-under 212 (69-73-70). He became the first Sun Devil to win a tournament since Matt Jones tied for the NCAA West Regional title in 2001 and is the first freshman to win a title since Paul Casey won the 1998 West Regional. His 71.27 stroke average entering the Pac-10 Tournament is the best on the team.

Stockton won the 2002 Pacific Northwest Golf Association title in July and shot the best tournament of his career in the ASU Thunderbird Invitational on April 11-12 with a 10-under 206, which tied for fifth.

Full statistics and live stats are available at

Pac-10 Men's Golf ChampionshipsThird-Round Scores (Par 72, 1,080 through three rounds)1. UCLA 364-362-355=1,081 (+1)2. Arizona 373-367-366=1,104 (+24)3. Stanford 365-368-376=1,109 (+29)4. Washington 365-372-377=1,114 (+34)5. Arizona State 378-365-376=1,119 (+39)6. Oregon State 376-380-389=1,125 (+45)7. Oregon 379-375-374=1,128 (+48)8. California 388-374-379=1,141 (+61)9. USC 377-391-374=1,142 (+62)10. Washington State 378-393-372=1,143 (+63)

Individual LeaderT1. John Merrick, UCLA 74-70-69=213, -3T1. Jim Deki, Stanford, 70-71-72=213, -33. Cameron MacKenzie, Oregon State 69-71-74=214, -2

Arizona State Individuals Three-Round Scores6. Brady Stockton 73-70-74=217, +1T9. Alejando Canizares 72-71-76=219, +3T21. Chez Reavie, 78-72-74=224, +8T37. Kendall Critchfield, 79-76-75=230, +14T43. Jesse Mueller, 79-76-77=232, +1653. Ben Flam, 76-80-80=236, +20

SUN DEVILS AS PAC-10 CHAMPS: A list of Sun Devils who have won Pac-10 individual titles (year and score noted): Scott Watkins and Dan Croonquist in 1979 (277); Jim Bertoncino in 1980 (280); Dan Forsman and Tony Grimes in 1981 (283); Phil Mickelson in 1990 (278); Scott Johnson in 1997 (278); and Paul Casey in 1998 (283), 1999 (265) and 2000 (265).

NCAA CHAMPIONSHIP: The 2003 NCAA Men's Golf Championship, hosted by Oklahoma State, will be held May 27-30 in Stillwater, Okla., at Karsten Creek. The West Regional, hosted by the University of Washington, will be held at Washington National Golf Club in Auburn, Wash., May 15-17.

DOWN THE ROAD: Arizona will play host to the 2004 Pac-10 Men's Golf Championship. ASU last hosted in 2000.

Now on Pac-12 Network
1:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network