California Travels Across the Bay for the Annual Big Row

April 30, 2003

BERKELEY - The No. 2 Bears and the No. 4 Cardinal will once again race for the Big Row title this Saturday at Redwood Shores. Racing begins with the varsity eights at 9:00 AM. California will be looking for redemption after falling to a strong Washington crew last week.

WASHINGTON RECAP: The No. 1 Cal varsity eight lost by 3/4 of a length Saturday to the defending national champions. The race was neck and neck through 1600 meters with neither boat taking more than a two seat advantage. The crews were battling it out and with 400 meters to go, the Huskies surged ahead. Cal could not respond eventually falling to Washington by 2.7 seconds. Cal's 2nd varsity eight also fell to the Huskies by 3.0 seconds. The varsity four commanded their race against two Husky crews winning by 7.7 seconds. And finally the Novice eight won their race handily by 9.4 seconds.

STANFORD LAST WEEK: The Cardinal took three of four races at USC.

BIG ROW HISTORY: The year 2003 marks the 28th meeting of the Cal and Stanford in the Big Row. The Bears have won 17 of the 27 previous duals. California was upset by the Cardinal last year at Redwood Shores.

COACH O'NEILL ON THE VARSITY EIGHT: 'We have made some changes, and I am excited about this line-up. We are looking to get everyone into positions that get the most out of everyone. Khobi Brooklyn is one of the most experienced strokes in the country, and I have a lot of confidence in her. Shauna Walchenbach has proven to be a terrific boat-mover, and she is ready to step into the varsity.'


Varsity 8

cox: Shaina Kennedy, Khobi Brooklyn, Laura Terheyden, Martha Helgeland, Kaylan Vander Schilden, Ariana Canova, Shelle Orem, Shauna Walchenbach, Hilarie Martin.

2nd Varsity 8

cox: Kate Goodman, Ashley Peterson, Elyse Lerum, Teresa Oja, Emily Burkett, Jessica Patak, Karin Clifton, Ona Johnson, Andrea McDermott

Varsity 4

cox: Remy Hitomi, Jane Griffith, Kelly Tilmanis, Liz Youngs, Hilary Meu.

Novice 8

cox: Azieb Tesfai, Shawna Walchenback, Erin Reinhardt, Ashley Smith, Megan Reitz, Sabine Zimmerman, Heidi Cole, Nathasha LaBelle, Kelly Segars.

COACH O'NEILL: Now in his fifth year at Cal head coach Dave O'Neill has established the women's crew as one of the premier programs in the country. In his four years, O'Neill has led Cal to four straight team invitations to the NCAA Championship Regatta, and his varsity eight has placed among the top four nationally three times. In 2002 the varsity took third and the team also placed third at the NCAA Regatta.

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder