Men's Golfer Alejandro Canizares Earns Co-Freshman Of The Year Honors, Reavie Earns First-Team

May 1, 2003

Arizona State freshman men's golfer Alejandro Canizares has been named Pac-10 co-Freshman of the Year and a second-team All-Pac-10 selection, the conference announced today. Junior Chez Reavie earned first-team honors while senior Brady Stockton earned honorable mention.

Canizares has a 71.42 stroke average this year in six events and won the National Invitational Tournament in Tucson on March 30-April 1. He has two top-10 finishes and tied for fourth at the Pac-10 Championships.

Reavie, from Mesa, Ariz. and the 2001 U.S. Public Links champion, has a 71.71 stroke average in 11 events and has eight top-10 finishes. He earned All-Pac-10 second-team honors in his first two seasons and also earned honorable mention All-American in 2001 after finishing tied for fourth at the NCAA Championship in Durham, N.C.

Stockton has a 72.36 stroke average in seven appearances this year and is 12-under in his past seven rounds, including a tie for second at the Pac-10 Championships.

ASU competes next at the NCAA West Regional on May 15-17 in Auburn, Wash. The NCAA Championships are May 27-30 in Stillwater, Okla.

2003 MEN'S GOLF ALL-PAC-10 FIRST TEAMName		School		Yr.	HometownRicky Barnes	Arizona		Sr.	Stockton, Calif.Steve Conway	UCLA		Jr.	Newport Beach, Calif.John Ellis	Oregon		Sr.	San Jose, Calif.Brock Mackenzie	Washington	Jr.	Yakima, Wash.John Merrick	UCLA		Jr.	Long Beach, Calif.Chris Nallen	Arizona		Jr.	Blairstown, N.J.Chez Reavie	Arizona State	Jr.	Mesa, Ariz.Peter Tomasulo	California	Jr.	Long Beach, Calif.

2003 MEN'S GOLF ALL-PAC-10 SECOND TEAMName School Yr. HometownAlejandro Canizares Arizona State Fr. Manilva, SpainRoy Moon UCLA Jr. Simi Valley, Calif.Jim Seki Stanford Sr. Honolulu, HawaiiMichael Wilson California Fr. Pacific Grove, Calif.

PAC-10 GOLFER OF THE YEAR: Ricky Barnes, Sr., ArizonaPAC-10 CO-FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR: Alejandro Canizares, Arizona State and Michael Wilson, CaliforniaPAC-10 COACH OF THE YEAR: O.D. Vincent, UCLA

PAC-10 FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR (originated in 1999)1999: John Lepak, Oregon State2000: Ricky Barnes, Arizona2001: Hunter Mahan, USC2002: Ben Hayes, USC2003: Alejandro Canizares, Arizona State, and Michael Wilson, California

Now on Pac-12 Network
8:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder