Pac-10 Men's Golf Honors Announced

May 1, 2003

Walnut Creek, Calif. - Ricky Barnes of Arizona has been named Pac-10 Golfer of the Year, Alejandro Canizares of Arizona State and Michael Wilson of California share Freshman of the Year honors and UCLA's O.D. Vincent has been named Pac-10 Coach of the Year, in voting by the Pac-10 men's golf coaches. In addition, the 2003 All-Pac-10 Men's Golf Team selected by the coaches was announced.

Stanford's Jim Seki (Honolulu, HI) was honored as a second-team selection on this year's all-conference team after posting six top 10 individual finishes as well as two top 25 in 10 tournaments this season. Seki recently tied for second at the Pac-10 Championships in Glendale, Calif. as well.

Barnes, a senior from Stockton, Calif., is the reigning U.S. Amateur champion and recently was the low-finishing amateur at the Masters tournament. He had six top 10 finishes in 11 collegiate events this year with a stroke average of 71.61 per round. He was at par or better in 20 of 29 rounds this season. Barnes is a semifinalist for the 2003 Ben Hogan Award, presented annually to the nation's top collegiate golfer. This is his second Pac-10 Player of the Year award, as he shared the honor in 2001.

Canizares, from Manilva, Spain, was ranked in the top 25 nationally as a freshman and won the National Invitational Turnament in Tucson. He led the Sun Devils with a 71.42 stroke average. Canizares tied for fourth in the Pac-10 Championships.

Wilson, from Pacific Grove, Calif., had seven top 10 finishes in 11 tournaments this season, including a tie for eighth in the Pac-10 Championships. Included was a win at the Mid-Pines Intercollegiate in his first college tournament. Wilson ranked second on the Cal squad with a 71.59 stroke average.

Vincent directed UCLA to a spectacular season in his first year at the helm, including the Bruins' first Pac-10 Championship since 1985. Including the Pac-10 title, UCLA won six of 12 tournaments entered this year and finished in the top five in 11 of those 12 tourneys. Tournaments won by the Bruins include the Pacific Invitational, the Taylor Made Big Island, the Cleveland Classic, the Western Intercollegiate, the U.S. Intercollegiate and the Pac-10 Championship. In UCLA's 12 tournaments, the Bruins are a total of 21 under par as a team. It marks the second Pac-10 Coach of the Year award for Vincent, who also won the honor in 1999 as head coach at Washington.

The Pac-10 golf awards and the All-Pac-10 Team are voted on by the Conference head golf coaches. Following is the complete list of honors:


Name	School	Yr.	HometownRicky Barnes	(Arizona)	Sr.	Stockton, CASteve Conway	(UCLA)	Jr.	Newport Beach, CAJohn Ellis	(Oregon)	Sr.	San Jose, CABrock Mackenzie	(Washington)	Jr.	Yakima, WAJohn Merrick	(UCLA	)Jr.	Long Beach, CAChris Nallen	(Arizona)	Jr.	Blairstown, NJChez Reavie	(Arizona State)	Jr.	Mesa, AZPeter Tomasulo	(California)	Jr.	Long Beach, CA


Name School Yr. HometownAlejandro Canizares (Arizona State) Fr. Manilva, SpainRoy Moon (UCLA) Jr. Simi Valley, CAJim Seki (Stanford) Sr. Honolulu, HIMichael Wilson (California) Fr. Pacific Grove CA

Honorable Mention: Derek Berg, Sr., WASH; Nico Bollini, So., USC; Chris Botsford, Sr., USC; Ryan Camp, Jr., WSU; Chris Carnahan, Sr., ORE; Reid Hatley, Sr., ARIZ; Travis Johnson, Jr., UCLA; Michael Jurgensen, Sr., OSU; Cameron MacKenzie, So., OSU; Andrew Medley, Sr;, ARIZ; Brady Stockton, Sr., ASU; Dustin White, Sr., WSU; Taylor Wood, Fr., USC.

courtesy of Pac-10 Conference

Now on Pac-12 Network
10:45 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder