Daria Panova Named Pac-10 Player of the Year

May 6, 2003

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - University of Oregon sophomore Daria Panova was named Pac-10 Women's Tennis Player of the Year on Tuesday in a vote by coaches in the conference. Courtney Nagle, a junior from Danville, Calif., was an honorable mention selection on the All-Conference team.

'I'm really happy,' Panova said. 'I think it's awesome that I won.'

Panova, a native of Moscow, Russia, has a 30-14 overall singles record this season, including a 17-7 record against ranked opponents. Her 17-4 tournament record includes singles titles at the Pac-10 Indoor Championships and the Pac-10 Championships, as well as a quarterfinal appearance at the National Indoor Championships. Panova lost only one set in nine matches in Pac-10 tournament play.

'It's a great honor for her and the program,' Oregon coach Nils Schyllander said. 'She's proven throughout the whole year why she's deserving of the award.'

It is Oregon's first tennis Player of the Year award since the Pac-10 Northern and Southern divisions combined in 1998. Overall, Panova is the first to win Player of the Year honors since Kumi Nagamoto, who shared the Pac-10 Northern distinction in both 1987 and 1988.

Nagle, who played most of the season at the No. 2 position, has an overall singles record of 17-15. In doubles play, Nagle and Panova have a record of 16-11, with three wins against opponents ranked in the top 15.

Both Nagle and Panova will compete in the NCAA Championships beginning May 19 in Gainesville, Fla. The No. 33-ranked tandem in the country will play in the doubles draw, while Panova, currently ranked No. 15, will enter the singles bracket. Nagle, who is ranked No. 54 in the nation, is listed as the second alternate for the singles draw.

2003 Pac-10 All-Conference
Player of the Year
Daria Panova (ORE)

First Team
Adria Engel (ASU)
Raquel Kops-Jones (CAL)
Amber Liu (STAN)
Daria Panova (ORE)
Jewel Peterson (USC)
Emilie Scribot (ARIZ)

Second Team
Alice Barnes (STAN)
Lauren Barnikow (STAN)
Jackie Carleton (UCLA)
Christina Fusano (CAL)
Maja Mlakar (ARIZ)
Dea Sumantri (WASH)
Sara Walker (UCLA)

Honorable Mention
Erin Burdette (STAN)
Claire Carter (WASH)
Dianne Hollands (ARIZ)
Luana Magnani (USC)
Courtney Nagle (ORE)
Orsolya Sallai (WSU)

Now on Pac-12 Network
8:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder