Patty McCain Tabbed Pac-10 Women's Tennis Coach of the Year

May 6, 2003

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - Washington's Patty McCain was named the 2003 Pac-10 Women's Tennis Coach of the Year, while sophomore Dea Sumantri and junior Claire Carter were selected to the All-Pac-10 team, the conference announced Tuesday.

This is the second Pac-10 Coach of the Year honor for McCain, who guided Washington to its highest national ranking in school history (sixth) this year. The Huskies, who have four singles players ranked in the Top-125 and one doubles team in the Top-15, have an overall record of 17-3 and tied for second in the Pac-10 with a 6-2 conference mark. UW will face Southern in its NCAA first-round match Saturday, May 10 at 2 p.m. in Seattle.

McCain was voted Pac-10 Coach of the Year in 2001, a season that saw the Huskies reach the NCAA quarterfinals and finish the year with a No. 11 national ranking.

Sumantri, ranked No. 34 nationally in singles, earned an All-Pac-10 second-team selection. She leads Washington with an overall singles record of 28-7 and a doubles mark of 20-8. Carter, ranked 48th in singles and 11th in doubles, was named to the All-Pac-10 honorable mention team for the second straight year. She earned a second-team nod as a freshman in 2001. A two-time All-American, Carter has a 16-16 singles record and a 24-13 doubles tally.

The Pac-10 awards are selected by a vote of the conference coaches. Also earning top Pac-10 honors was Oregon's Daria Panova who was named Player of the Year. Stanford's Amber Liu was named Pac-10 Freshman of the Year, while the Cardinal pair of Lauren Barnikow and Erin Burdette earned Doubles Team of the Year honors.

2003 Pacific-10 Women's Tennis All-Conference Team
First Team

Adria Engel, Arizona State, Raquel Kops-Jones, Cal, Amber Liu, Stanford, Daria Panova, Oregon, Jewel Peterson, USC, Emilie Scribot, Arizona

Second Team
Alice Barnes, Stanford, Lauren Barnikow, Stanford, Jackie Carleton, UCLA, Christina Fusano, Cal, Maja Mlakar, Arizona, Dea Sumantri, Washington, Sara Walker, UCLA

Honorable Mention
Erin Burdette, Stanford, Claire Carter, Washington, Dianne Hollands, Arizona, Luana Magnani, USC, Courtney Nagle, Oregon, Orsolya Sallai, Washington State

Now on Pac-12 Network
6:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder