Men's Golf Selected To Participate In NCAA West Regional

May 7, 2003

Indianapolis, Ind. - The NCAA Division I Men's Golf Committee has selected the teams and individuals that will participate in the 2003 NCAA Division I Men's Golf Championships. The Stanford men's golf team has been chosen to compete in the NCAA West Regional, held May 15-17, at the Washington National Golf Course in Auburn, Wash. The University of Washington is the host school.

The championships will be conducted May 27-30 at Karsten Creek Golf Club in Stillwater, Oklahoma. Oklahoma State University is the host institution for this year's championships.

Three regional tournaments, encompassing the current nine regions, will be conducted May 15-17. A total of 27 teams and six individuals have been selected for each regional competition with ten teams and two individuals advancing from each regional to the championships finals.

Listed below are the teams and individuals selected to participate in the 2003 NCAA Division I Men's Golf Championships. Teams winning automatic qualification are designated by its conference in parenthesis.

Auburn University Club in Auburn, Alabama
Hosted by Auburn University.

Teams (seeded in the following order):1.	Clemson (Atlantic Coast)2.	Augusta State3.	Wake Forest4.	Florida (SEC)5.	Auburn6.	Georgia Tech7.	Tennessee8.	South Carolina9.	College of Charleston10.	Vanderbilt11.	Virginia Tech (Big East)12.	East Tennessee State13.	Duke14.	Georgia State15.	North Carolina-Wilmington16.	Alabama17.	Jacksonville State (Atlantic Sun)18.	Georgia Southern (Southern)19.	Penn State20.	Charleston Southern (Big South)21.	Maryland22.	James Madison23.	Rhode Island24.	Yale (Ivy)25.	Binghamton26.	Liberty27.	Jackson State (SWAC)

Individuals:1. Gareth Maybin, South Alabama2. John Humphries, LSU3. Ryan Gildersleeve, South Alabama4. Andrew Svoboda, St. John's (New York)5. Ted Brown, Virginia Commonwealth6. Alvero Velasco, Coastal Carolina

Colbert Hills Golf Course in Manhattan, Kansas
Hosted by Kansas State University.

Teams (seeded in the following order):1.	Texas (Big 12)2.	TCU (Conference USA)3.	Oklahoma State4.	North Carolina5.	Minnesota (Big Ten)6.	North Carolina State7.	Oklahoma8.	Arkansas9.	Illinois10.	Northwestern11.	Southern Methodist12.	Baylor13.	Tulsa14.	Kentucky15.	Lamar (Southland)16.	Toledo17.	Michigan State18.	Wichita State (Missouri Valley)19.	North Texas (Sun Belt)20.	Texas A&M21.	Ohio State22.	Kent State (MAC)23.	Texas Tech24.	Kansas25.	Missouri26.	Kansas State27.	Wright State (Horizon)

Individuals:1. Jeff Overton, Indiana2. Brandon Brown, Eastern Kentucky3. Peter Karmis, Purdue4. Brett Jones, Louisville5. Brett Callas, Houston6. Stephen Carroll, Colorado

Washington National Golf Club in Auburn, Washington
Hosted by the University of Washington.

Teams (seeded in the following order):1.	UCLA (Pacific-10)2.	UNLV3.	Arizona4.	Georgia5.	Arizona State6.	Washington7.	New Mexico (Mountain West)8.	Southern California9.	Pepperdine (West Coast)10.	San Diego State11.	California12.	Fresno State (WAC)13.	UC Irvine (Big West)14.	Brigham Young15.	Colorado State16.	UTEP17.	Denver18.	Oregon19.	Austin Peay (Ohio Valley)20.	Stanford21.	Oregon State22.	Old Dominion (Colonial)23.	Xavier (Atlantic 10)24.	Oral Roberts (Mid-Continent)25.	Navy (Patriot)26.	Central Connecticut State (Northeast)27.	Loyola (Maryland) (Metro Atlantic)

Individuals:1. Matt Hansen, Pacific2. Brendan Steele, UC Riverside3. Travis Bertoni, Cal Poly4. Isaac Weintraub, San Jose State5. Pete Sisich, Cal State Northridge6. Graham DeLaet, Boise State

Conferences receiving automatic qualification into the 2003 NCAA Division I Men's Golf Championships are: Atlantic Coast Conference, Atlantic Sun Conference, Atlantic 10 Conference, Big East Conference, Big South Conference, Big Ten Conference, Big 12 Conference, Big West Conference, Colonial Athletic Association, Conference USA, Horizon League, Ivy Group, Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference, Mid-American Conference, Mid-Continent Conference, Missouri Valley Conference, Mountain West Conference, Northeast Conference, Ohio Valley Conference, Pacific-10 Conference, Patriot League, Southeastern Conference, Southern Conference, Southland Conference, Southwestern Athletic Conference, Sun Belt Conference, West Coast Conference, and Western Athletic Conference.

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder