Stanford Headed To Alabama As No. 2 Seed At NCAA Regionals

May 11, 2003

Stanford, Calif. - The NCAA Division Women's Softball Committee selected the 64 team bracket that will compete in the championships on Sunday night. The 17th-ranked Stanford softball team was tabbed as the No. 2 seed and will open its 2003 NCAA Tournament play on Thursday, May 15 in Tuscaloosa, Alabama against the Chattanooga Mocs, the region's seventh seed.

The Cardinal, 40-24 overall and 7-14 in the Pac-10, is making their sixth overall NCAA appearance, advancing to the Regionals every year since 1998. Stanford enters the postseason having won four of its last five games, has faced two teams in the regional. The Cardinal defeated Massachusetts 2-1 on Feb. 7 in the ASU Fiesta Bowl Tournament and handed Illinois a 7-6 loss on March 8 at the Speedline Invitational in Plant City, Fla.

Stanford holds a 9-11 overall postseason mark, including 7-9 in Regional competition. The Cardinal advanced to their first-ever World Series in 2001 and last season recorded a win over Pacific, but fell to eventual NCAA Champion Cal and was knocked out by CS Fullerton at the 2002 Regionals in Fresno.

No. 16 Alabama (45-19) is the region's top-seed and host institution, followed by Stanford (40-24), Massachusetts (36-13), Illinois (38-15-1), Georgia Tech (35-23), Southern Illinois (36-12), Chattanooga (35-28) and Southern U. (19-10).

This is the first year for the 64-team bracket, last year's bracket provided for 48 teams. Eight teams will participate at each of eight regional sites in a double-elimination tournament. The regional winners advance to the Women's College World Series (WCWS), an eight-team, double-elimination tournament on May 22-26 at the ASA Don E. Porter Hall of Fame Stadium in Oklahoma City.

The top eight teams were seeded in order, and the remainder of the teams were placed in regional brackets to create balanced competition and avoid conference match ups when possible. Teams hosting regionals, which were named two weeks prior to team selections for the first time this year, were not guaranteed a bid to the championship.

The dates, sites and pairings are as follows:


Seed No. 1 - May 15-18 at Tucson, Arizona No. 1 seed *Arizona (50-5)No. 2 seed South Carolina (38-18)No. 3 seed Texas A&M (35-20)No. 4 seed Minnesota (35-18-1)No. 5 seed Cal State Northridge (26-21)No. 6 seed Boston College (33-20)No. 7 seed Princeton (23-19-1)No. 8 seed Colorado State (35-13)

Seed No. 2 - May 15-18 at Fresno, California No. 1 seed UCLA (45-6)No. 2 seed Georgia (55-12)No. 3 seed Michigan State (37-17)No. 4 seed *Fresno State (33-20)No. 5 seed Long Beach State (29-17)No. 6 seed North Carolina (39-20-1)No. 7 seed Long Island (29-19)No. 8 seed Colgate (30-13)

Seed No. 3 - May 15-18 at Austin, Texas No. 1 seed *Texas (43-7)No. 2 seed Northwestern (35-17)No. 3 seed Arizona State (30-23)No. 4 seed LSU (49-16)No. 5 seed Hawaii (37-18)No. 6 seed Southwest Texas State (43-16-1)No. 7 seed Tennessee Tech (41-14)No. 8 seed Texas A&M-Corpus Christi (31-22)

Seed No. 4 - May 15-18 at Gainesville, Florida No. 1 seed Oklahoma (39-12)No. 2 seed Florida State (45-9)No. 3 seed *Florida (40-23)No. 4 seed South Florida (53-17)No. 5 seed Florida Atlantic (42-26)No. 6 seed Oregon State (32-29)No. 7 seed Texas-Arlington (39-15)No. 8 seed Bethune-Cookman (45-19)

Seed No. 5 - May 15-18 at Lincoln, Nebraska No. 1 seed Washington (40-14-1)No. 2 seed *Nebraska (36-15)No. 3 seed Iowa (40-13)No. 4 seed Mississippi State (33-28)No. 5 seed Florida International (35-25)No. 6 seed Pacific (Cal.) (34-22)No. 7 seed Hofstra (37-15)No. 8 seed Creighton (25-22)

Seed No. 6 - May 15-18 at Fullerton, California No. 1 seed *Cal State Fullerton (39-13)No. 2 seed Oklahoma State (36-13)No. 3 seed Oregon (32-17)No. 4 seed Louisiana-Lafayette (43-8)No. 5 seed San Diego State (37-18)No. 6 seed Penn State (30-21)No. 7 seed Boston U. (33-21)No. 8 seed Rider (24-23)

Seed No. 7 - May 15-18 at Ann Arbor, Michigan No. 1 seed DePaul (46-5-1)No. 2 seed California (41-18)No. 3 seed *Michigan (40-14)No. 4 seed Notre Dame (36-15)No. 5 seed Missouri (29-18)No. 6 seed Western Michigan (30-22)No. 7 seed Oakland (33-23)No. 8 seed Wright State (15-35)

Seed No. 8 - May 15-18 at Tuscaloosa, Alabama No. 1 seed *Alabama (45-19)No. 2 seed Stanford (40-24)No. 3 seed Massachusetts (36-13)No. 4 seed Illinois (38-15-1)No. 5 seed Georgia Tech (35-23)No. 6 seed Southern Illinois (36-12)No. 7 seed Chattanooga (35-28)No. 8 seed Southern U. (19-10)

*Host institution

Now on Pac-12 Network
8:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder