USC Hosts 2003 Pac-10 Track And Field Championships

May 13, 2003

Los Angeles - For the first time ever, the Pac-10 Track and Field Championships will be held on USC's campus as the 2003 conference meet takes place at Katherine B. Loker Stadium this Saturday and Sunday (May 17-18).

Field events begin on Saturday with the women's hammer at West L.A. College at 10 a.m., while the rest of the events get underway at USC's Loker Stadium with the women's long jump at 11 a.m. The first running event on Saturday is the women's 400m relay preliminary heat at 1 p.m. Events on Sunday begin with the men's hammer at West L.A. College at 9 a.m. and with the women's triple jump at noon at Loker Stadium. The first running event on Sunday is the women's 400m relay final at 1 p.m.

The team champions will be crowned in an awards ceremony at 5:45 p.m on Sunday.

The two-day affair will display over 200 athletes from nine schools (Oregon State does not offer track) as they compete for the 73rd men's title and the 17th women's title.

Stanford is the two-time defending men's champion, while the UCLA women will be shooting for their seventh consecutive crown.

The Trojan men finished third and the Women of Troy second at last season's conference championships hosted by Washington State. Troy last won the Pac-10 men's title in 2000, while the USC women last won in 1996.

The last time USC--owner of more NCAA track and field championships than any other university--hosted the Pac-10s at any venue was in 1986 at the L.A. Coliseum.

The Pac-10 is well-represented in the latest Trackwire Top 25 rankings, as the men's meet will see No. 3 USC, No. 10 Stanford, No. 13 UCLA, No. 17 Oregon and No. 22 Arizona State square off, while the women's meet features No. 4 UCLA, No. 6 USC, No. 7 Stanford, No. 13 Oregon and No. 15 Washington State.

A bevy of outstanding athletes will take center stage in the men's meet, including 2003 NCAA indoor triple jump champion Allen Simms, two-time 110m HH All-American Ryan Wilson and All-American high jumper Dawid Jaworski of USC, 2002 NCAA 1500m champion Donald Sage and 10,000m All-American Louis Luchini of Stanford, All-American pole vaulter Brad Walker of Washington, All-American thrower Dan Ames of UCLA and All-American 10,000m runner Jason Hartmann and 2001 NCAA decathlon champion Santiago Lorenzo of Oregon, just to name a few.

The women's meet will be no less star-studded, as it includes 2002 NCAA 200m champion Natasha Mayers and Pac-10 record holders Inga Stasiulionyte (javelin) and Julianna Tudja (hammer) of USC, 2002 NCAA champions Lena Nillson (1500m), Chaniqua Ross (discus) and Jessica Cosby (shot put) of UCLA, 2002 NCAA 5000m champion Lauren Fleshman and All-American shot putter Jillian Camarena of Stanford, All-American pole vaulter Becky Holliday of Oregon, All-American high jumper Whitney Evans and All-American heptathlete Ellannee Richardson of Washington State and All-American steeplechaser Lisa Aguilera of Arizona State.

The meet will be televised on tape delay by Fox Sports West on Thursday, May 22, at noon PT.

Tickets for the meet can be obtained at the USC Ticket Office at 213-740-GO SC or at the gate. Adult prices are $10 for Saturday and $15 for Sunday, or $20 for a two-day pass. Tickets for children ages 3-12 and USC students are $5.

Live stats for the meet will be posted on

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder