Eight Cardinal Named To Softball All-Pac-10 Teams

May 14, 2003

Walnut Creek, Calif. - The Stanford softball team placed eight players on the 2003 All-Pac-10 teams as announced by the conference office on Tuesday. Dana Sorensen (San Diego, CA) was named to the First Team, freshmen Lauren Lappin (Anaheim, CA) and Catalina Morris (Sonoita, AZ) were selected to the Second Team, while Jessica Allister (Nacogdoches, TX), Elizabeth Bendig (Santa Ana, CA), Cassi Brangham (Clovis, CA), Kira Ching (San Lorenzo, CA) and Tori Nyberg (Belmont, CA) all earned Honorable Mention accolades.

Sorensen earned her second First Team honor after being selected to the team in 2001. She finished the regular season with a 20-10 mark and holds a 1.13 ERA with 312 strikeouts. Sorensen is tied with former Cardinal Becky Blevins with 70 career wins, marking the most in program history. She also holds Stanford's career and season strikeout marks. Sorensen has tallied 15 double-digit strikeout performances and was named Pac-10 Pitcher of the Week and the Speedline Invitational's Most Valuable Pitcher.

Lappin and Morris collected their first career Pac-10 honor. In her first collegiate season, Lappin leads the team with a .339 batting average and 58 hits. She has also contributed 31 runs, eight doubles, two home runs and 15 RBI. Lappin tallied 18 multiple hit games and had a 12-game hitting streak in April. Morris leads the squad with 38 runs scored, 92 total bases and 11 stolen bases. She finished the regular season batting .335 with 10 doubles, seven home runs and 27 RBI. Morris also holds a .960 fielding percentage, committing just two errors in center field.

For the second straight year, Allister was selected to the Honorable Mention team. She leads Stanford with 11 home runs and 40 RBI, and is fourth with a .274 batting average and 49 hits. Bendig collected her first career conference honor in her first full season as a starter. She is batting .270 with seven doubles and 14 RBI, also tallying eight multiple hit contests. Brangham, who is having a career year, also earned her first Pac-10 honor in her final season for Stanford. Her batting average ranks third on the team (.298) and she has also chipped in 11 doubles, two home runs and 33 RBI - all career highs. Ching is a three-year member of the Honorable Mention team. She leads the squad with 191 at bats, 14 doubles and three triples, tying the all-time triples mark. Nyberg picked up her second career conference honor. She currently holds a 15-10 record with a 1.78 ERA, walking only 18 in 161 total innings of work.

UCLA shortstop Natasha Watley was named Pac-10 Player of the Year, while Bruin hurler Keira Goerl was named Pitcher of the Year. Newcomer of the Year honors went to ARIZONA pitcher Alicia Hollowell, and Coach of the Year was awarded to Wildcat head coach Mike Candrea.

FIRST TEAM	Kara Brun, ASU - SR -- SS	Autumn Champion, ARIZ - FR -- OF	Jaime Clark, WASH - JR -- SS	Keira Goerl, UCLA -- JR -- P	Brynnen Guthrie, OSU - SR -- 2B	Alicia Hollowell, ARIZ - FR -- P	Lovieanne Jung, ARIZ - SR -- SS	Tairia Mims, UCLA - SR -- 1B/C	Veronica Nelson, CAL - SR -- 1B	Kristen Rivera, WASH - SO -- DP	Dana Sorensen, STAN - JR -- P	Claire Sua, UCLA - JR -- 1B	Natasha Watley, UCLA - JR -- SS	Phelan Wright, ASU - JR -- 3B

SECOND TEAM Kelly Anderson, CAL -- SO -- P Caitlyn Benyi, UCLA - FR -- OF Tia Bollinger, WASH - JR -- P Clare Burnum, OSU - SR -- 3B Kathy Fiske, WASH - SO -- 3B Courtney Fossatti, ARIZ - SO -- OF Vicky Galindo, CAL - SO -- 3B Adriana Garcia, ASU - SR -- C Lauren Lappin, STAN - FR -- SS Catalina Morris, STAN - FR -- OF Shelly Prochaska, OSU - SR -- C Courtney Scott, CAL - SR -- C Mackenzie Vandergeest, ARIZ - JR -- C Andrea Vidlund, ORE - SR -- UT

HONORABLE MENTION Wendy Allen, ARIZ -- JR -- P/DP Jessica Allister, STAN - JR -- C Adrienne Alo, OSU -- FR -- OF Ashley Boek, WASH - JR -- P Elizabeth Bendig, STAN - SO -- 3B Beth Boskovich, ORE - FR -- OF Cassi Brangham, STAN - SR -- OF Kira Ching, STAN -- SR -- 2B Jackie Coburn, ARIZ - SO -- 3B Andrea Duran, UCLA -- FR -- OF/3B Kaleo Eldredge, CAL - SO -- OF Cheryl Evans, ASU - JR -- DP Kristen Farber, ASU - JR -- OF Crystal Farley, ARIZ -- SO -- OF Jennifer Forner, ASU - SR -- OF Lynsey Haij, ORE -- SR -- 3B Sarah Hyatt, WASH - FR -- 1B Amy Harris, ORE -- FR -- P Monica Hoffman, OSU - JR -- P Lindsay James, CAL -- FR -- OF Alyssa Laux, ORE - SR -- 1B Aimee Minor, WASH -- FR -- OF Tori Nyberg, STAN - SR -- P Kelly Petersen, OSU -- SO -- SS Stephanie Ramos, UCLA - JR -- OF Lisha Ribellia, ARIZ -- SR -- 2B Desiree Serrano, ASU - FR -- P Kristina Thorson, CAL -- FR -- P Michelle Turner, UCLA - FR -- P Dena Tyson, WASH -- FR -- OF Ashley Werschky, ASU - FR -- UT Emily Zaplatosch, UCLA -- FR -- C/1B





Now on Pac-12 Network
2:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder