Bruin Novice Eight Captures Pac-10 Conference Rowing Title

May 18, 2003

Rancho Cordova, Calif. - The UCLA women's novice eight captured the Pacific-10 Conference Rowing Championship Sunday afternoon at Lake Natoma, posting a winning time of 6:51.7 over the 2,000 meter course. The Bruins also placed seventh overall among the Varsity Eights and Second Varsity Eights while the UCLA varsity four finished eighth overall.

In the final team standings, Washington won the Pac-10 team trophy with 62 points. California was second with 60 points, followed by a tie for third between Stanford and Washington State with 52 points, Oregon State with 20 points, UCLA with 34 points, USC with 23 points, and Oregon with 16 points.

The Stanford women's varsity eight rowed to a winning time of 6:30.3, a little more than four seconds faster than Washington (6:34.7), to win the Pac-10 Women's Varsity Eight Conference Title.

Washington had won each of the last 11 Pac-10 varsity eight championships prior to today's second-place finish. Rounding out the top six teams in the women's varsity eight grand final were Washington State in third place with a time of 6:36.3, followed by Cal (6:36.7), USC (6:38.4) and Oregon State (6:44.2).

In the Women's Varsity Eight Petite Final, UCLA raced to a winning time of 6:52.9, followed by Sacramento State (6:59.8), UC Davis (7:00.8), Loyola Marymount (7:01.5), San Diego State (7:07.7), Santa Clara (7:11.7) and Oregon (7:15.7). UCLA's seventh-place finish overall was an improvement from last season's 12th place performance.

Cal was victorious in the women's second varsity eight grand final with a time of 6:42.5, followed by Washington (6:43.1), Stanford (6:46.5), Washington State (6:46.8), Oregon State (6:50.2) and USC (6:52.3).

In the Women's Second Varsity Eight Petite Final, UCLA raced to a winning time of 7:09.5 to finish seventh overall. Sacramento State finished second in the race, recording a time of 7:12.4, followed by Loyola Marymount (7:14.5), San Diego State (7:15.6), Santa Clara (7:20.3), UC Davis (7:21.9), and Oregon (8:01.9).

UCLA took first-place honors in the Women's Novice Eight Grand Final with a time of 6:51.7. Cal (6:55.6), Washington (6:56.4), Oregon State (6:57.2), Washington State (7:00.3) and UC Davis (7:05.2) rounded out the novice eight field.

In the Women's Varsity Four Grand Final, Cal raced to a winning time of 7:29.7, followed by Washington (7:38.5), Washington State (7:40.3), Oregon State (7:45.8), Stanford (7:52.2) and USC (8:05.7).

In the Women's Varsity Four Petite Final, UCLA finished second in 8:10.7 to finish eighth overall. San Diego State won the final 2-seconds ahead of the Bruins, recording a time of 8:08.6.

The Pac-10 Championships are limited to the top 21 entrants for each event in the West Region, which includes each of the seven Pac-10 rowing institutions (Cal, Washington State, Stanford, Oregon State, Washington, UCLA and USC; Oregon is club status).

Today's regatta marks the end of the women's rowing regular season. Since the advent of the NCAA Championships in 1997, holding the Pac-10's on the final weekend allows the selection committee to compare virtually all West Coast (Pac-10 and non Pac-10) crews under comparable race conditions. The NCAA Women's Rowing Championship field will be announced on Tuesday, May 20.

On Saturday, May 17, UCLA raced a varsity four in the Women's Open Four competition. The Bruins finished fifth in the race, posting a time of 8:19.6. Winning the race was San Diego State in 7:48.6, followed by St. Mary's (7:50.9), Stanford (7:52.9), Sacramento State, UCLA, and Oregon (8:24.5).

Now on Pac-12 Network
10:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder