Arizona State Selected As One Of 16 NCAA Baseball Regional Hosts

May 25, 2003

TEMPE, Ariz. ( - Arizona State University and the nationally ranked Sun Devil baseball team was selected today as one of 16 regional host sites for the 2003 NCAA Baseball Tournament to be played next weekend (May 30-June 1) at Tempe Diablo Stadium. The Sun Devils will open tournament play Friday night at 7 p.m. against a to-be-determined opponent.

ASU will be hosting its third regional in the last four years and will be making its 27th all-time appearance in the NCAA Tournament. The four-team Regional play will start Friday at Diablo Stadium, the spring training home of the Anaheim Angels, with the other three teams to be announced tomorrow. The full 64-team field will be announced at 9:30 a.m. (Arizona time) on ESPN2. All fans and media are invited to attend the annual gathering at McDuffy's (5th and Ash) where the team will watch the unveiling of the pairings. The Sun Devils are 49-12 overall heading into today's regular-season finale against rival Arizona.

The 16 regional sites, with host institutions and records through May 24, are as follows: Tempe, Arizona (Arizona State, 49-12); Auburn, Alabama (Auburn, 40-19); Fullerton, California (California State, Fullerton, 43-13); Tallahassee, Florida (Florida State, 50-9-1); Atlanta, Georgia (Georgia Tech, 41-16); Long Beach, California (Long Beach State, 38-18); Baton Rouge, Louisiana (Louisiana State, 40-18-1); Coral Gables, Florida (Miami, Fla., 39-14-1); Starkville, Mississippi (Mississippi State, 40-18-1); Lincoln, Nebraska (Nebraska, 44-16); Wilson, North Carolina (North Carolina State, 42-15); Houston, Texas (Rice, 47-10); Hattiesburg, Mississippi (Southern Mississippi, 44-14); Palo Alto, California (Stanford, 40-15); Austin, Texas (Texas, 42-17); College Station, Texas (Texas A&M, 43-17). All regionals are campus sites except North Carolina State (Fleming Stadium in Wilson, North Carolina) and Arizona State (Diablo Stadium in Tempe).

Ticket information and complete tournament brackets will be posted on the Arizona State website ( when they become available. All ticket inquiries should be directed to the Arizona State Athletic Ticket Office at (480) 965-2381.

2003 NCAA Baseball Regional Host Sites (16):Tempe, Ariz. (Arizona State)
Auburn, Ala. (Auburn)
Fullerton, Calif. (Cal State Fullerton)
Tallahassee, Fla. (Florida State)
Atlanta, Ga. (Georgia Tech)
Long Beach, Calif. (Long Beach State)
Baton Rouge, La. (LSU)
Coral Gables, Fla. (Miami)
Starkville, Miss. (Mississippi State)
Lincoln, Neb. (Nebraska)
Wilson, NC (North Carolina State)
Houston, Texas (Rice)
Hattiesburg, Miss. (Southern Mississippi)
Palo Alto, Calif. (Stanford)
Austin, Texas (Texas)
College Station, Texas (Texas A&M)

Now on Pac-12 Network
11:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder