All 16 Regional Sites Selected For Division I Baseball

May 26, 2003

Tournament Bracket in PDF Format
Tempe Regional Bracket in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

INDIANAPOLIS, IN (from All 16 regional sites have been selected for the 57th annual NCAA Division I Baseball Championship, it was announced today by the NCAA Division I Baseball Committee.

The 16 regional sites, with host institutions and records through May 24, are as follows: Tempe, Arizona (Arizona State, 49-12); Auburn, Alabama (Auburn, 40-19); Fullerton, California (California State, Fullerton, 43-13); Tallahassee, Florida (Florida State, 50-9-1); Atlanta, Georgia (Georgia Tech, 41-16); Long Beach, California (Long Beach State, 38-18); Baton Rouge, Louisiana (Louisiana State, 40-18-1); Coral Gables, Florida (Miami, Fla., 39-14-1); Starkville, Mississippi (Mississippi State, 40-18-1); Lincoln, Nebraska (Nebraska, 44-16); Wilson, North Carolina (North Carolina State, 42-15); Houston, Texas (Rice, 47-10); Hattiesburg, Mississippi (Southern Mississippi, 44-14); Palo Alto, California (Stanford, 40-15); Austin, Texas (Texas, 42-17); College Station, Texas (Texas A&M, 43-17). All regionals are campus sites except North Carolina State (Fleming Stadium in Wilson, North Carolina) and Arizona State (Diablo Stadium in Tempe).

By virtue of being awarded a regional, 13 of the host institutions also have been selected as at-large teams to the 64-team field, but some could win automatic berths Sunday in their respective conference tournaments. Long Beach State, Rice and Stanford already have clinched automatic berths. Each regional field features four teams, playing a double-elimination format. All 16 regionals are scheduled to be conducted from Friday, May 30, to Sunday, June 1.

Long Beach State, North Carolina State and Southern Mississippi will host a regional for the first time, although Wilson, North Carolina, has been a location previously, while eight sites (Arizona State, Florida State, Georgia Tech, Louisiana State, Nebraska, Rice, Stanford and Texas) also hosted in 2002.

The remaining at-large teams, top-eight national seeds and first-round regional pairings will be announced at 11:30 a.m. Central time, Monday, May 26, during a live, half-hour program on ESPN2. The committee will set the entire 64-team bracket through both the super regionals and the first round of the Men's College World Series. The committee will not reseed the field after play begins. Selection of the eight super regional hosts will be announced during a telephonic press conference at 11 a.m. Central time, Monday, June 2,.

Thirty Division I conferences receive an automatic berth in the field of 64, along with 34 at-large selections.

The 57th College World Series begins play Friday, June 13, at Rosenblatt Stadium in Omaha, Nebraska.

Now on Pac-12 Network
10:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder