Four Arizona Baseball Players Garner All-Pac-10 Honors

May 27, 2003

Arizona BaseballMay 27, 2003Contact: Matt Rector

TUCSON, Ariz.- Four Arizona baseball players have garnered all-conference honors, Commissioner Tom Hansen and the Pac-10 office announced today. Juniors Richie Gardner and Brian Anderson join sophomore Jeff Van Houten and freshman Brad Boyer as the largest group of Wildcat players to be named to the postseason honor since six players were named All-Pac-10 South in 1993. The 2003 all-conference honor is the first for each player in their respective careers.

Gardner, who transferred to Arizona from Santa Rosa JC, is the first Arizona pitcher to garner all-conference recognition since Ben Diggins in 2000. The right-hander leads Arizona in innings pitched (105 1/3), strikeouts (91) and ERA (3.84). His 9-2 overall record is tied with Sean Rierson for the team lead.

Anderson, who is also an All-America candidate, wrapped up Arizona's regular season with a .375 average, 14 home runs, 61 RBIs and 17 stolen bases. The junior outfielder rebounded from a down season in 2002 that saw him hit just .275 with five home runs and 30 RBIs.

All-America candidate Van Houten finished the 2003 regular season as the Pac-10's second-leading hitter (.415) and Arizona's leader with 71 RBIs and a .707 slugging percentage heading into regional play.

Boyer, who leads the Pac-10 in stolen bases and is third in runs scored, is the first freshman in school history to be named to the all-conference team. Boyer has broken four Arizona freshman records and is on pace to break several more in Arizona postseason games.

Joining the four Arizona players named to the all-conference team were an additional four Wildcats that garnered honorable mention All-Pac-10 honors. Juniors Rierson and Moises Duran were named honorable mention, along with sophomore John Hardy and freshman Nick Hundley.

Stanford's Ryan Garko and Arizona State's Dustin Pedroia were named co-Pac-10 Players of the Year, while Garko's Cardinal teammate John Hudgins was voted as the Pac-10 Pitcher of the Year. USC's Jeff Clement was named the Freshman of the Year and Stanford's Mark Marquess was tabbed as the conference Coach of the Year after leading the Cardinal to the 2003 Pac-10 championship.

CO-PLAYERS OF THE YEARRyan Garko, STANFORD & Dustin Pedroia, ARIZONA STATEPITCHER OF THE YEARJohn Hudgins, STANFORDFRESHMAN OF THE YEARJeff Clement, USCCOACH OF THE YEARMark Marquess, STANFORDALL-PAC-10 TEAMName 			School  	Pos 	Yr 	Ht 	Wt 	HometownBrian Anderson  	ARIZ 		OF 	Jr. 	6-3 	200 	Tucson, Ariz.Chad Boudon 		WASH    	DH 	Jr. 	6-1 	210 	Shoreline, Wash.Brad Boyer 		ARIZ 		3B 	Fr. 	5-11 	180 	Camarillo, Calif.Jeff Clement 		USC 		C 	Fr. 	6-1 	205 	Marshalltown, IowaAndre Ethier (2) 	ASU 		OF 	Jr. 	6-3 	195 	Phoenix, Ariz.Will Fenton 		WASH    	RP 	So. 	6-2 	195 	Kingston, Wash.Sam Fuld (3) 		STAN 		OF 	Jr. 	5-10 	180 	Durham, N.H. Richie Gardner  	ARIZ 		RHP 	Jr. 	6-3 	185 	Santa Rosa, Calif. Steve Garrabrants 	ASU 		2B 	Jr. 	5-10 	173 	Phoenix, Ariz.Conor Jackson (2) 	CAL 		1B 	Jr. 	6-3 	205 	Woodland Hills, Ca.Jeff Larish 		ASU 		1B 	So. 	6-2 	180 	Tempe, Ariz.Brent Lillibridge 	WASH    	OF 	Fr. 	5-9 	170 	Everitt, Wash.Anthony Lunetta 	USC 		SS 	Sr. 	5-10 	180 	Riverside, Calif.Jake Postlewait 	OSU 		LHP 	Jr. 	6-0 	190 	Corvallis, Ore.Danny Putnam    	STAN 		OF 	So. 	5-10 	200 	Escondido, Calif.Carlos Quentin (3) 	STAN 		OF 	Jr. 	6-2 	215 	Chula Vista, Calif.Mark Romanczuk  	STAN 		LHP 	Fr. 	6-1 	190 	Newark, Del.Ryan Schroyer   	ASU 		RP 	Jr. 	6-1 	205 	Casa Grande, Ariz. Jeff Van Houten 	ARIZ 		OF 	So. 	5-10 	175 	Paradise Valley, Az. Wes Whisler (2) 	UCLA 		UT 	So. 	6-5 	227 	Noblesville, Ind.

(2) - Two-time All-Conference selection.(3) - Three-time All-Conference selection.

Honorable Mention: Brian Bannister, Jr., USC; Trent Baysinger, Jr., WASH; Chris Biles, Sr., OSU: USC; Travis Buck, Fr., ASU; Tony Calderon, Jr., OSU; Brian Carter, Jr., WASH; Jeff Dragicevich, Jr., CAL; Moises Duran, Jr., ARIZ; Jacoby Ellsbury, Fr., OSU; Tuffy Gosewisch, So., ASU; Chris Grossman, Jr., CAL; John Hardy, So., ARIZ; Justin Hart, Jr., WSU; Aaron Hathaway, So., WASH; Brian Horwitz, Jr., CAL; Nick Hundley, Fr., ARIZ; Greg Isaacson, Jr., WASH; Andy Jarvis, Sr., OSU; Jered Liebeck, Sr., ASU; Aaron MacKenzie, Jr., WSU; Matt Manship, Fr., STAN; Aaron Mathews, So., OSU; Travis McAndrews, Sr., USC; Brent McMillan, Fr., UCLA; Frank Mesa, So., ASU; Joey Metropoulos, So., USC; Jay Miller, Fr., WSU; John Otness, Jr., WASH; Bobby Paschal, Fr., USC; Seth Pietsch, Jr., OSU; Anthony Reyes, Sr., USC; Tila Reynolds, Sr., WASH; Grant Richardson, So., WSU; Sean Rierson, Jr., ARIZ; Doug Silva, Sr., UCLA; Billy Susdorf, So., UCLA; Tobin Swope, Sr., STAN; Ben Thurmond, Sr., ASU; Warren Trott, Sr., UCLA; Nick Walsh, Jr., ASU; Jeremy West, Jr., ASU; Sean White, Sr., WASH.

Now on Pac-12 Network
4:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder