McDaniel Named NGCA National Coach of the Year

May 27, 2003

BERKELEY - California head coach Nancy McDaniel has been named the 2003 National Golf Coaches Association (NGCA) Division I National Coach of the Year. The NGCA also recognized Golden Bear senior Vikki Laing as a second team All-American, while junior Sarah Huarte earned honorable mention distinction. The duo are the first Cal golfers to ever be selected as All-Americans.

McDaniel, who is in her eighth season as the founding coach of the Cal program, also was picked as 2003 Co-West Regional Coach of the Year with Pepperdine's Laurie Gibbs. In 2002, McDaniel earned solo regional coach honors.

A product of Portland, Ore., McDaniel garnered this year's national coaching honor after leading the Bears to a nation's-best seven tournament titles and a program-best No. 2 national ranking by Golfstat. The most noteworthy of Cal's victories were its first Pac-10 and NCAA Central Regional Championships. McDaniel's squad competed in the NCAA Championships last week, tying for 14th for its top finish in three straight visits.

In 2002-03, McDaniel was one of six Cal coaches to earn conference coach of the year honors but is the only one to be selected as national coach of the year. The other conference selections were Jeff Tedford (football), Kevin Grimes (men's soccer), Kirk Everest (men's water polo), Cari Dubois (women's gymnastics) and Shellie Onstead (field hockey).

Laing became the first Cal women's golfer to win the Pac-10 crown this season. She did so by one stroke and held off two of the nation's top golfers in USC's Mikaela Parmlid, the 2003 NCAA champion, and Arizona's Erica Blasberg. The Musselburgh, Scotland native concluded the season with a Cal record stroke average of 74.3 and earned back-to-back first team All-Pac-10 awards.

Huarte, who hails from Shingle Springs, Calif., joined Laing in 2003 as a two-time first team All-Pac-10 choice. Huarte posted four Top 5 showings this season, including her first collegiate victory at the Bay Area Classic. She wrapped up the year with the second-lowest average for the Bears at 75.4.

Now on Pac-12 Network
10:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder