Pac-10 Announces All-Conference Baseball Team

May 27, 2003

Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - STANFORD senior catcher Ryan Garko and ARIZONA STATE sophomore shortstop Dustin Pedroia were named the 2003 Pacific-10 Conference Baseball Co-Players of the Year, while STANFORD junior right-hander John Hudgins earned Pitcher of the Year honors in a vote by the Conference baseball coaches. USC's Jeff Clement was named Freshman of the Year. STANFORD skipper Mark Marquess earned the Coach of the Year honor after leading the Cardinal to their third Pac-10 title in five years, Commissioner Tom Hansen announced today.

Garko, from Walnut, Calif., led Stanford in several offensive statistical categories, including batting average (.406), hits (86), doubles (20), home runs (15), RBI (78) and slugging percentage (.708). He also ranks among Conference leaders in batting average (3rd), on-base percentage (8th), doubles (7th), total bases (4th) and slugging percentage (3rd). Garko was also one of two Pac-10 players to be named a 2003 Johnny Bench award finalist. Pedroia, from Woodland, Calif., finished the regular season as the Conference leader in batting average (.418), while also ranking first in runs scored (75) and total bases (160). Pedroia, who set a new Pac-10 record for doubles in a season (32) becomes the 10th player in Sun Devil history to be named Player of the Year and the first since Casey Myers in 2001.

Hudgins, from Mission Viejo, Calif., posted a 9-3 record and a 3.14 ERA, third best in the Pac-10. He paces the league in strikeouts (110) and innings pitched (123.1), while also ranking among Pac-10 leaders in opposing batting average (.232, 2nd) and wins (9, t2nd). His strikeout-to-walk ratio is 110-25. The righty, whose five complete games are the most by any Conference pitcher this season, is the seventh Cardinal to earn the Pac-10 Pitcher of the Year award.

Clement, from Marshalltown, Iowa, put up impressive statistics for the Trojans. He is tied for the league lead with 21 home runs, the most by any freshman in USC history. He ranks among Pac-10 players in slugging percentage (.649, 9th), RBI (53, 10th), and total bases (135, 6th). Clement started in all 56 games as catcher for USC and notched a .988 fielding percentage, good enough to rank fourth on the team.

Marquess earns his ninth Coach of the Year award after leading his squad to its third Pac-10 Championship in five years, 11th overall. Marquess has led the Cardinal to playoff spots in 21 of his 27 seasons, including Stanford's national titles in 1987 and 1988. This season he led the Cardinal to a 41-15 overall record and 18-6 Conference mark. He has a career record of 1134-548-5 (.674) at Stanford.

Complete list of Conference honors:






Name	School	Pos	Yr	Ht	Wt	HometownBrian Anderson	ARIZ	OF	Jr.	6-3	200	Tucson, Ariz.Chad Boudon	WASH	DH	Jr.	6-1	210	Shoreline, Wash.Brad Boyer	ARIZ	3B	Fr.	5-11	180	Camarillo, Calif.Jeff Clement	USC	C	Fr.	6-1	205	Marshalltown, IowaAndre Ethier (2)	ASU	OF	Jr.	6-3	195	Phoenix, Ariz.Will Fenton	WASH	RP	So.	6-2	195	Kingston, Wash.Sam Fuld (3)	STAN	OF	Jr.	5-10	180	Durham, N.H.Richie Gardner	ARIZ	RHP	Jr.	6-3	185	Santa Rosa, Calif.Steve Garrabrants	ASU	2B	Jr.	5-10	173	Phoenix, Ariz.Conor Jackson (2)	CAL	1B	Jr.	6-3	205	Woodland Hills, Calif.Jeff Larish	ASU	1B	So.	6-2	180	Tempe, Ariz.Brent Lillibridge	WASH	OF	Fr.	5-9	170	Everett, Wash.Anthony Lunetta	USC	SS	Sr.	5-10	180	Riverside, Calif.Jake Postlewait	OSU	LHP	Jr.	6-0	190	Corvallis, Ore.Danny Putnam	STAN	OF	So.	5-10	200	Escondido, Calif.Carlos Quentin (3)	STAN	OF	Jr.	6-2	215	Chula Vista, Calif.Mark Romanczuk	STAN	LHP	Fr.	6-1	190	Newark, Del.Ryan Schroyer	ASU	RP	Jr.	6-1	205	Casa Grande, Ariz.Jeff Van Houten	ARIZ	OF	So.	5-10	175	Paradise Valley, Ariz.Wes Whisler (2)	UCLA	UT	So.	6-5	227	Noblesville, Ind.

(2) - Two-time All-Conference selection.(3) - Three-time All-Conference selection.

Honorable Mention: Brian Bannister, Jr., USC; Trent Baysinger, Jr., WASH; Chris Biles, Sr., OSU; Travis Buck, Fr., ASU; Tony Calderon, Jr., OSU; Brian Carter, Jr., WASH; Jeff Dragicevich, Jr., CAL; Moises Duran, Jr., ARIZ; Jacoby Ellsbury, Fr., OSU; Tuffy Gosewisch, So., ASU; Chris Grossman, Jr., CAL; John Hardy, So., ARIZ; Justin Hart, Jr., WSU; Aaron Hathaway, So., WASH; Brian Horwitz, Jr., CAL; Nick Hundley, Fr., ARIZ; Greg Isaacson, Jr., WASH; Andy Jarvis, Sr., OSU; Jered Liebeck, Sr., ASU; Aaron MacKenzie, Jr., WSU; Matt Manship, Fr., STAN; Aaron Mathews, So., OSU; Travis McAndrews, Sr., USC; Brent McMillan, Fr., UCLA; Frank Mesa, So., ASU; Joey Metropoulos, So., USC; Jay Miller, Fr., WSU; John Otness, Jr., WASH; Bobby Paschal, Fr., USC; Seth Pietsch, Jr., OSU; Anthony Reyes, Sr., USC; Tila Reynolds, Sr., WASH; Grant Richardson, So., WSU; Sean Rierson, Jr., ARIZ; Doug Silva, Sr., UCLA; Billy Susdorf, So., UCLA; Tobin Swope, Sr., STAN; Ben Thurmond, Sr., ASU; Warren Trott, Sr., UCLA; Nick Walsh, Jr., ASU; Jeremy West, Jr., ASU; Sean White, Sr., WASH.

Now on Pac-12 Network
11:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder