Three Diamond Dawgs Named First-Team All-Pac-10

May 27, 2003

Three members of the Washington baseball team have been named to the All-Pacific-10 Conference First Team, which was announced today by the conference office.

Outfielders Chad Boudon and Brent Lillibridge and relief pitcher Will Fenton all made the team, while eight other Huskies made honorable mention.

Stanford's Ryan Garko and Arizona State's Dustin Pedroia were named Co-Players of the Year while Stanford starter John Hudgins was tabbed Pitcher of the Year. Cardinal coach Mark Marquess, who led Stanford to the league title was Coach of the Year and USC catcher Jeff Clement, who shared the Pac-10 home run lead with Boudon, was picked Freshman of the Year, edging out Lillibridge.

Boudon, a junior outfielder and designated hitter, is in his first season at the UW after spending the last three at the University of Hawaii. The Shorewood High grad heads into the postseason with a UW-record 21 home runs, tied for the Pac-10 lead. He batted .289 with 55 runs batted in.

Lillibridge, a freshman outfielder from Everett (Jackson High), led the Huskies with a .392 batting average, currently fourth in the league and the best ever by a UW freshman. His 12 homers also set a school record for freshmen and he leads the Pac-10 with his .717 slugging percentage despite being 5-foot-9 and 175 pounds. In June, he'll participate in the USA Baseball national team trials.

Fenton, a junior righty from Kingston (North Kitsap High), finished the season not having allowed a single run in 30 innings of work. He led the Pac-10 with 10 saves and allowed only 14 hits and 10 walks while striking out 48 in his 30 innings of work.

Additionally, reliever Trent Baysinger (Moscow, Idaho), reliever Brian Carter (Woodinville), catcher Aaron Hathaway (Vancouver), second baseman Greg Isaacson (Aberdeen), shortstop Tila Reynolds (Issaquah), third baseman John Otness (Fircrest), outfielder Mike Wagner (Woodinville) and starting pitcher Sean White (Mercer Island) earned honorable mention.

Here's the complete 2003 All-Pac-10 Baseball Team:

CO-PLAYERS OF THE YEARRyan Garko, Stanford & Dustin Pedroia, Arizona State

PITCHER OF THE YEARJohn Hudgins, Stanford


COACH OF THE YEARMark Marquess, Stanford

Name School Pos Yr Ht Wt HometownBrian Anderson ARIZ OF Jr. 6-3 200 Tucson, Ariz.Chad Boudon WASH DH Jr. 6-1 210 Shoreline, Wash.Brad Boyer ARIZ 3B Fr. 5-11 180 Camarillo, Calif.Jeff Clement USC C Fr. 6-1 205 Marshalltown, IowaAndre Ethier (2) ASU OF Jr. 6-3 195 Phoenix, Ariz.Will Fenton WASH RP So. 6-2 195 Kingston, Wash.Sam Fuld (3) STAN OF Jr. 5-10 180 Durham, N.H.Richie Gardner ARIZ RHP Jr. 6-3 185 Santa Rosa, Calif.Steve Garrabrants ASU 2B Jr. 5-10 173 Phoenix, Ariz.Conor Jackson (2) CAL 1B Jr. 6-3 205 Woodland Hills, Calif.Jeff Larish ASU 1B So. 6-2 180 Tempe, Ariz.Brent Lillibridge WASH OF Fr. 5-9 170 Everitt, Wash.Anthony Lunetta USC SS Sr. 5-10 180 Riverside, Calif.Jake Postlewait OSU LHP Jr. 6-0 190 Corvallis, Ore.Danny Putnam STAN OF So. 5-10 200 Escondido, Calif.Carlos Quentin (3) STAN OF Jr. 6-2 215 Chula Vista, Calif.Mark Romanczuk STAN LHP Fr. 6-1 190 Newark, Del.Ryan Schroyer ASU RP Jr. 6-1 205 Casa Grande, Ariz.Jeff Van Houten ARIZ OF So. 5-10 175 Paradise Valley, Ariz.Wes Whisler (2) UCLA UT So. 6-5 227 Noblesville, Ind.

(2) - Two-time All-Conference selection.(3) - Three-time All-Conference selection.

Honorable Mention: Brian Bannister, Jr., USC; Trent Baysinger, Jr., WASH; Chris Biles, Sr., OSU: USC; Travis Buck, Fr., ASU; Tony Calderon, Jr., OSU; Brian Carter, Jr., WASH; Jeff Dragicevich, Jr., CAL; Moises Duran, Jr., ARIZ; Jacoby Ellsbury, Fr., OSU; Tuffy Gosewisch, So., ASU; Chris Grossman, Jr., CAL; John Hardy, So., ARIZ; Justin Hart, Jr., WSU; Aaron Hathaway, So., WASH; Brian Horwitz, Jr., CAL; Nick Hundley, Fr., ARIZ; Greg Isaacson, Jr., WASH; Andy Jarvis, Sr., OSU; Jered Liebeck, Sr., ASU; Aaron MacKenzie, Jr., WSU; Matt Manship, Fr., STAN; Aaron Mathews, So., OSU; Travis McAndrews, Sr., USC; Brent McMillan, Fr., UCLA; Frank Mesa, So., ASU; Joey Metropoulos, So., USC; Jay Miller, Fr., WSU; John Otness, Jr., WASH; Bobby Paschal, Fr., USC; Seth Pietsch, Jr., OSU; Anthony Reyes, Sr., USC; Tila Reynolds, Sr., WASH; Grant Richardson, So., WSU; Sean Rierson, Jr., ARIZ; Doug Silva, Sr., UCLA; Billy Susdorf, So., UCLA; Tobin Swope, Sr., STAN; Ben Thurmond, Sr., ASU; Warren Trott, Sr., UCLA; Nick Walsh, Jr., ASU; Jeremy West, Jr., ASU; Sean White, Sr., WASH.

Now on Pac-12 Network
1:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder