Erica Blasberg Named Finalist for Honda Sports Award

May 28, 2003

TUCSON, Ariz. - University of Arizona women's golfer Erica Blasberg was named one of four finalists for the Honda Sports Award.

Blasberg, a freshman from Corona, Calif., was selected as a finalist for the prestigious women's golf award along with Katherine Hull of Pepperdine, Makaela Parmlid of USC and Lindsey Wright of Pepperdine.

Following a nationwide ballot, the winner of the women's golf Honda Sports Award will be announced on June 2, 2003. That winner immediately becomes a nominee for the Honda-Broderick Cup, which is presented annually to the nation's outstanding collegiate woman athlete of the year.

The nation's top-ranked golfer according to the May 25 Golfweek/Sagarin Performance Index, Blasberg posted a 72.36 stroke average in 10 events this season. Following a tie for 21st place in her collegiate debut in early September, she posted nine consecutive top-10 finishes, including two victories. Sixteen of her 30 rounds played in 2002-03 were at par or better with a low of 68. Her three-under 210 total to win the Wildcat Invitational in February was a season low. Her efforts won her both the Pacific-10 Conference Player- and Freshman-of-the-Year honors. Blasberg tied for third at last week's NCAA Championships with a 10-over 298 total.

The Honda Sports Award nomination was just one of a handful of postseason accolades to come Blasberg's way, as she was a multiple honoree by the National Golf Coaches Association.

Blasberg earned first-team All-America honors, won the 2003 Golfstat Cup and was named the 2003 NGCA Division I Softspikes Freshman of the Year. It marks the 45th time an Arizona golfer has earned All-America honors, accomplished by 22 different players. Blasberg continues a streak in which Arizona has had at least one first-team All-American in each of the last eight seasons.

The Golfstat Cup is awarded to the player with the lowest season scoring average. Arizona golfers have claimed the award in each of the last four seasons, as Jenna Daniels (2000) and Lorena Ochoa (2001 and 2002) also won the cup, and five times (Marisa Baena, 1997) since the award's inception in 1996.

Blasberg also joins Ochoa (2001) as Arizona's Softspikes Freshman of the Year recipients.

Now on Pac-12 Network
9:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network