Mikaela Parmlid Wins Honda Award As Top Woman Collegiate Golfer

June 3, 2003

USC's Mikaela Parmlid--fresh off the NCAA individual title--has been named the 2003 Honda Award winner for women's golf, the Collegiate Women's Sports Awards announced today.

Parmlid is the first USC athlete to win the golf award, which goes annually to the nation's top female golfer. She won the honor in nationwide balloting over Erica Blasberg of Arizona and Katherine Hull and Lindsey Wright, both of Pepperdine.

As a result, Parmlid--the greatest female golfer in USC history--is now one of 12 nominees for the Honda-Broderick Cup, which recognizes the nation's top female collegiate athlete in all sports for 2003. Last season, USC's Angela Williams took home the cup, joining Cheryl Miller as the only Women of Troy athletes to win this prestigious honor.

Parmlid capped a brilliant career at USC with a spectacular senior season that saw her set Women of Troy records for season tournament wins (4) and career tournament wins (5). Her final win was the biggest, though, as she captured the NCAA individual title, while helping USC to its first-ever NCAA golf team title. Parmlid joined current LPGA star Jennifer Rosales as the only USC golfers to win an NCAA individual title.

The two-time All-American first-teamer is a native of Gothenburg, Sweden.

This year's nominees for the Honda-Broderick Cup:

Rachael Becker, Lacrosse, PrincetonVilmarie Castellvi, Tennis, TennesseeNatalie Coughlin, Swimming, CaliforniaShalane Flanagan, Cross Country, North CarolinaElva Goulbourne, Track and Field, AuburnMikaela Parmlid, Golf, USCChristine Sinclair, Soccer, PortlandTiffany Snow, Field Hockey, Old DominionDiana Taurasi, Basketball, ConnecticutLogan Tom, Volleyball, StanfordNatasha Watley, Softball, UCLAOnnie Willis, Gymnastics, UCLA

USC Winners of the Honda Broderick Cup:Angela Williams, Track and Field, 2002Cheryl Miller, Basketball, 1984

USC Honda Award Winners:1977-78 Debbie Green (volleyball)1980-81 Anna Maria Fernandez (tennis)1983-84 Cheryl Miller (basketball)1984-85 Cheryl Miller (basketball)1993-94 Lisa Leslie (basketball)1995-96 Kristine Quance (swimming and diving)1996-97 Kristine Quance (swimming and diving)2001-02 Angela Williams (track and field)2002-03 Mikaela Parmlid (golf)

Now on Pac-12 Network
1:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder