Aimee Baker Named Pac-10 Women's Rowing Coach of the Year.

June 5, 2003

Walnut Creek, Calif. - Stanford's Aimee Baker was named the Pacific-10 Conference Women's Rowing Coach of the Year while Washington's Bob Ernst was named Pac-10 Men's Rowing Coach of the Year, Commissioner Tom Hansen announced today.

Cardinal freshman Abby Loughrey was named the Women's Newcomer of the Year while Washington sophomore Brett Newlin was named Pac-10 Men's Rowing Newcomer of the Year. Loughrey helped the Stanford Women's Varsity to a third place finish at the NCAA Rowing Championships this year.

Baker led the Cardinal women's rowing team to its first-ever Pacific-10 Conference varsity eight title with a time of 6:30.4, finishing 4.4 seconds ahead of second-place Washington. The win snapped the Huskies' 11-year hold on the Pac-10 women's varsity eight title and vaulted Stanford to a third-place finish in the team standings. At the NCAA Championships in Indianapolis, Ind., the Cardinal placed third in the varsity eight race (6:29:54), the highest finish by a Pac-10 team. The Stanford women finished ninth overall at the NCAA Championships with 33 team points. Baker, who just completed her eighth season at the helm of the Stanford women's program, was named 2003 West Region Coach of the Year by the Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association. The Pac-10 Coach of the Year honor is the second of her career and first since 1996.

Having just completed his 29th season at UW, including his 16th year as the men's coach, Ernst has led the Huskies to eight Pac-10 championships. The Pac-10 Coach of the Year honor is the ninth of his career and his first since 1997.

The Cardinal also had five athletes named to the All-Pac-10 team, with Jamie Schroeder earning a nod from the men's side while Missy Fiesler, Wendy Hoeveler, Sabrina Kolker and Sam Magee were selected from the women' side.

Pac-10 Men's Rowing Coach of the Year: Bob Ernst, Washington
Pac-10 Women's Rowing Coach of the Year: Aimee Baker, Stanford
Pac-10 Men's Rowing Newcomer of the Year: Brett Newlin, SO, Washington
Pac-10 Women's Rowing Newcomer of the Year: Abby Loughrey, FR, Stanford

The 2003 All-Conference teams are listed below:

All-Pac-10 Men's Rowing Team
Matt Buck, Oregon
Carl Cronk, Washington State
Ryan Dillon, Oregon State
Brian Kitch, UCLA
Ante Kusurin, Washington
John Lorton, Washington
Ryan Marks, Washington
Ian McGowan, California
Jeffrey Nalty, California
Marko Petrovic, Washington
Nick Scholz, Oregon State
Jamie Schroeder, Stanford
Mladen Stegic, California

All-Pac-10 Women's Rowing Team
Jennifer Ask, Oregon
Ariana Canova, California
Lauren Estevenin, Washington
Missy Fiesler, Stanford
Wendy Hoeveler, Stanford
Adrienne Hunter, Washington
Brooke Jordan, UCLA
Sabrina Kolker, Stanford
Andrea Korom, USC
Sam Magee, Stanford
Corrie McGrath, Washington State
Jamie Orth, Washington State
Carrie Stasiak, Washington
Emily Tribe, Washington State
Julia White-Hoppe, Oregon State

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder