Amber Liu Named ITA National Player Of The Year

June 5, 2003

Skillman, N.J. - NCAA singles champion Amber Liu of Stanford University has been named the 2003 Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) Women's National Player of the Year, the ITA announced today. Liu will be honored at the ITA All-Star Outing and Awards Luncheon, presented by Nick Bollettieri, on August 22 at the West Side Tennis Club in Forest Hills, N.Y.

Liu, a freshman from La Mesa, Calif., is the eighth Stanford women's player to receive this award. Liu topped Tennessee's Vilmarie Castellvi in last month's NCAA singles final. Liu, who was also named ITA National Rookie of the Year, reached the quarterfinal at the first national tournament of the season, the Riviera/ITA All-American Championships. She led the Cardinal to the NCAA team final and won 11 of the last 12 matches she played. Liu finished at No. 3 in the final Omni Hotels national singles rankings.

Next week Liu will also be representing the United States on an ITA-USA All-Star Team competing in two matches in Tokyo, Japan.

The ITA National Player of the Year award goes annually to the individuals who have had the most outstanding years in both individual and team competition, as determined by the ITA.

The ITA All-Star Outing and Awards Luncheon, presented by Nick Bollettieri, in August will also honor the 2003 Arthur Ashe/ITA Leadership and Sportsmanship Award winners (for Division I) and several of the top-ranked collegiate players from all ITA divisions in the Omni Hotels Collegiate Tennis Rankings.

The ITA National Doubles Teams of the Year will be announced Friday.

Past ITA National Players of the Year:

1982 - Vicki Nelson, Rollins1983 - Beth Herr, Southern California1984 - Gretchen Rush, Trinity (Texas)1985 - Gretchen Rush, Trinity (Texas)1986 - Caroline Kuhlman, Southern California1987 - Patty Fendick, Stanford1988 - Halle Cioffi, Florida1989 - Tami Whitlinger, Stanford1990 - Debbie Graham, Stanford1991 - Sandra Birch, Stanford1992 - Lisa Raymond, Florida1993 - Lisa Raymond, Florida1994 - Angela Lettiere, Georgia1995 - Keri Phebus, UCLA1996 - Jill Craybas, Florida1997 - Lilia Osterloh, Stanford1998 - Vanessa Webb, Duke1999 - Zuzana Lesenarova, San Diego2000 - Laura Granville, Stanford2001 - Laura Granville, Stanford2002 - Bea Bielik, Wake Forest2003 - Amber Liu, Stanford

Now on Pac-12 Network
2:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder