Bohlander, Willis Awarded Pac-10 Conference Medals

UCLA football player Bryce Bohlander (Keizer, OR) and Bruin gymnastics star Onnie Willis (Tacoma, WA) were named Wednesday as 2002-2003 Pacific-10 Conference Medal winners. A Conference Medal is awarded annually to each member institution's outstanding male and female student-athlete based on the exhibition of the greatest combination of performance and achievement in scholarship, athletics and leadership.

Bohlander, a Verizon Academic All-District and a Pac-10 All-Academic selection as a senior, started the final 38 games of his four-year career at offensive tackle. He was a second-team All-Pac-10 Conference selection in 2002 and earned UCLA's Robinson Award for Highest Scholarship by a senior

Willis is the gymnastics Honda Award winner for 2003 and a three-time Verizon Academic All-District selection who was recently awarded an NCAA postgraduate scholarship. Willis led UCLA to three NCAA team titles in her four years, including the 2003 title. In 2001, she became UCLA's first-ever NCAA all-around champion. She also won the 2002 Pac-10 all-around and uneven bars titles and was selected the 2003 Pac-10 Gymnast of the Year. Willis is the most honored gymnast in UCLA history, having earned a school-record 16 All-America honors.

The Conference Medal winners will be honored at the State Farm Pride of the Pac-10 Luncheon held in Los Angeles in conjunction with the Pac-10 Men's Basketball Tournament next March. Following are the 2002-03 awardees:

2002-03 Pacific-10 Conference Medal Winners
Arizona: Jason Johnson (Football), Lovieanne Jung (Softball)
Arizona State: Eric Larkin (Wrestling), Lisa Aguilera (Track & Field)
California: John Paul Fruttero (Tennis), Brittany Kirk (Soccer)
Oregon: Santiago Lorenzo (Track & Field), Andrea Vidlund (Softball)
Oregon State: Dennis Weathersby (Football), Elizabeth Jillson (Gymnastics)
Stanford: Ryan Garko (Baseball), Jackie Frank (Water Polo)
UCLA: Bryce Bohlander (Football), Onnie Willis (Gymnastics)
USC: Erik Vendt (Swimming), Tracy Lindquist (Volleyball)
Washington: Brad Walker (Track & Field), Paige Benjamin (Volleyball)
Washington State: Jason Gesser (Football), Ellannee Richardson (Track & Field)

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder