UW's Bob Ernst Named Pac-10 Coach of the Year

June 5, 2003

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - Bob Ernst, who guided the Washington men's crew to a conference championship and national runner-up finish, received the Pac-10 Coach of the Year award and eight Husky rowers were also honored by the conference, Commissioner Tom Hansen announced Thursday.

Ernst directed the Huskies to the Pac-10 varsity eight title for the first time since 1997. At the Intercollegiate Rowing Association (IRA) national championships in Camden, N.J. last Saturday, Washington finished second in the varsity eight competition behind only the undefeated Harvard crew. The Huskies also collected the silver medal in the junior varsity event and won the varsity four championship.

This is the ninth Pac-10 coaching honor for Ernst who just completed his 29th year on the rowing staff at Washington, his 16th as head coach of the men's program. Ernst was the 1987 women's coach of the year in the Pac-10 that recognized his work with the Husky men in 1990, 1991, 1992, 1993, 1995, 1996 and 1997.

Stanford's Aimee Baker was the recipient of the women's Coach of the Year award after leading the Cardinal to the Pac-10 varsity eight title.

The conference also honored several athletes and recognized the newcomer of the year. Husky sophomore Brett Newlin, who rowed in the No. 5 seat for the varsity eight crew, received the men's Newcomer of the Year trophy. A native of Riverton, Wyo., Newlin joined the Huskies in January after competing last year on a club team at Michigan State. Stanford's Abby Loughrey was the women's top newcomer.

The Huskies had more all-conference selections than any other school with four men and three women garnering accolades. Members of the UW men's varsity eight earning All-Pac-10 acclaim were Ante Kusurin (Zagreb, Croatia), Ryan Marks (Dartmouth, Mass.), Marko Petrovic (Belgrade, Yugoslavia) and John Lorton from Seattle's University Prep High School.

The trio of Huskies on the all-conference women's team were Lauren Estevenin (Bothell, Wash./Inglemoor High School), Adrienne Hunter (Toronto, Ontario) and Carrie Stasiak (St. Catharines, Ontario). Those three rowed to a fourth-place NCAA finish in the varsity event for Washington which placed third in the overall team standings.

2003 Pacific-10 Conference Rowing Awards

Coach of the Year
Bob Ernst, Washington

Newcomer of the Year
Brett Newlin, Washington

All-Pac-10 Team
Matt Buck, Oregon
Carl Cronk, Washington State
Ryan Dillon, Oregon State
Brian Kitch, UCLA
Ante Kusurin, Washington
John Lorton, Washington
Ryan Marks, Washington
Ian McGowan, California
Jeffrey Nalty, California
Marko Petrovic, Washington
Nick Scholz, Oregon State
Jamie Schroeder, Stanford
Mladen Stegic, California

Coach of the Year

Aimee Baker, Stanford

Newcomer of the Year
Abby Loughrey, Stanford

All-Pac-10 Team
Jennifer Ask, Oregon
Ariana Canova, California
Lauren Estevenin, Washington
Missy Fiesler, Stanford
Wendy Hoveler, Stanford
Adrienne Hunter, Washington
Brooke Jordan, UCLA
Sabrina Kolker, Stanford
Andrea Korom, USC
Samantha Magee, Stanford
Corrie McGrath, Washington State
Jamie Orth, Washington State
Carrie Stasiak, Washington
Emily Tribe, Washington State
Julia White-Hoppe, Oregon State

Now on Pac-12 Network
4:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network