Bogdanof Finishes 15th in Semifinals of 110mH at NCAA Championships

June 12, 2003

SACRAMENTO, Calif. - California senior Tim Bogdanof saw his collegiate career come to an end Thursday on day two of the NCAA Track and Field Championships at the A.G. Spanos Sports Complex. The Clovis, Calif., product finished 15th overall and seventh in heat two of the 110m hurdle semifinals with a time of 13.91.

Texas A&M's Chris Pinnock clocked the fastest time of the day (13.54) to win Bogdanof's heat. The top four runners in each of the two heats, plus the next fastest time, advanced to Saturday's final of the 110mH. The last runner to qualify out of the second heat ran a time of 13.87.

Wednesday, Bogdanof recorded a 13.73 in heat one of the 110mH to qualify for the semifinals. That time was the fifth best of the day. At the 2003 NCAA West Regional at Stanford, Bogdanof won the 110m hurdles preliminary in a personal-best time of 13.51, the second fastest ever in Cal's history.

The Bears have two high jumpers - freshman Teak Wilburn and sophomore David Glasgow - competing today in the qualifying round of the event. The competition began at 1:30 p.m. The school-record holder in the 10,000m, junior Girmay Guangul vies for the national championship in that event tonight at 9:40 p.m.

The NCAA Track and Field Championships, which are being hosted by Sacramento State, continue through Saturday, June 14. Cal doesn't have anyone slated to compete Friday, and hopes to have Wilburn and Glasgow in the high jump final Saturday at 4:30 p.m.

Check for live results and for a complete recap.

2003 NCAA Track and Field Championships, Thursday, June 12
Cal Events

Men:110mH (semifinals): Heat 1: 1. Ryan Wilson (USC) 13.60*, 2. David Payne (Cincinnati) 13.68*, 3. Josh Walker (Florida) 13.71*, 4. David Oliver (Howard) 13.74*, 5. Joel Brown (Ohio State) 13.74*, 6. Adrian Ray (Sam Houston) 13.80, 7. Reggie Harrell (TCU) 13.83, 8. Nenad Loncar (Nebraska) 13.91, 9. Paul Whitty (Texas-Arlington) 14.09. Heat 2: 1. Chris Pinnock (Texas A&M) 13.54*, 2. David Davis (Nebraska) 13.84*, 3. Karl Jennings (Tennessee) 13.85*, 4. Kelvin Harris (Mississippi State) 13.87*, 5. Eric Mitchum (Oregon) 13.89, 6. Chuck Ryan (South Carolina) 13.90, 7. Tim Bogdanof (California) 13.91, 8. Shannon Armstrong (Wichita State) 14.45, 9. Jabari Greer (Tennessee) 15.17.

* advanced to final

Now on Pac-12 Network
11:15 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder