Stanford Places 14 Crew On Pac-10 All-Academic Crew Teams

June 16, 2003

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - A total of 14 Stanford Crew Members, both men and women, were selected to the Pac-10 All-Academic Team. Of the 14 selected, 10 were placed on the first team. The men placed six crew members on the first team and the women's team has four first team selections and four second team selections, as announced by Pac-10 Commissioner Tom Hansen.

In order to be considered for selection to the academic team, a student-athlete must have a minimum 3.0 overall grade-point average and be either a starter or significant substitute.

Below is a complete list of the Stanford Crew members selected:

Men's First Team: Matt Altman, Jr., Mathematics; Rob Evans, So., Economics; Bryant Helvey, Sr., Civil Engineering; Chris Jones, Sr., Biology; Fred Luminoso, Sr., Mathematics/ Economics; James Schroeder, Jr., Biology.

Women's First Team: Susan Beville, So., Geology; Melissa Haury, Jr., Human Biology; Molly Loeb, Jr., Psychology; Ashley Maloney, Jr. , Earth Sciences.

Women's Second Team: Laurie Benson, Sr., Geology; Wendy Hoeveler, Sr., American Studies; Sabrina Kolker, Sr., English; Samantha Magee, So., Earth Systems.

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder