Track & Field Athletes Earn National Recognition for Academic Excellence

June 17, 2003

TUCSON, Ariz. - The University of Arizona's men's and track and field athletes have been honored at the national and conference levels for their academic excellence during the 2003 season. Several athletes were named to the Verizon Academic All-America Track & Field/Cross Country Team, as well at the Pac-10 All-Academic and MPSF All-Academic teams.

Junior Mike Mortensen led the way for the Wildcats after being named to the 2002-2003 Verizon Academic All-America Men's Track & Field/Cross Country team. Mortensen earned second team accolades. He is a junior pole-vaulter from Tempe, Ariz. studying Russian.

The Pac-10 Conference has honored Mortensen, as well as junior Mark Anderson and sophomore Aaron Powell with first team all-academic honors. Juniors Bruce Bridges and Kevin Engelhardt earned second team acknowledgements. The Wildcats also had seven athletes earn honorable mentions, including: Chris Chappell, Mike Howard, Jeff Hunter, Kevin Opalka, Ryan Moore, Mark Ramos and Adrain Thomas.

On the women's side, the Pac-10 named junior Beth Hoge and sophomore Chelsea Powell to the first team. Juniors Jessica Corkill and Nicole Gurnicz and senior Rebecca Nott were named to the second team. Jackilyn Drake, Seynabou Ndiaye and Amanda Underwood earned honorable mentions.

The Mountain Pacific Sports Federation also honored several Wildcats for their academic pursuits during the 2003 indoor season. The UA women had six athletes recognized, including: Jessica Corkill, Jackilyn Drake, Adrienne Goeller, Nicole Gurnicz, Seyanbou Ndiaye and Chelsea Powell. The Arizona men had 10 athletes honored on the academic all-conference team, including: Eric Bohn, Chris Chappell, Jeff Hunter, Josh Ludwig, Ryan Moore, Mike Mortensen, Kevin Opalka, Aaron Powell, Mark Ramos and Adrain Thomas.


Now on Pac-12 Network
12:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder