Twenty Bears Earn Pac-10 All-Academic Honors

June 17, 2003

BERKELEY - A total of 20 student-athletes from the University of California men's and women's track and field teams earned Pac-10 All-Academic recognition for the 2003 season. To be eligible for the selection to the academic teams, a student-athlete must have a minimum 3.0 overall grade-point average and be either a starter or significant substitute.

On the men's side, seniors Martin Conrad and Nick Mazur were first team all-academic picks, while sophomores Jonathan Balzer and Greg Ross were named to the second team. Honorable mention all-academic honors went to senior Craig Lee and sophomores Carlos Carballo, David Glasgow and Jeff Squires.

On the women's side, seniors Brooke Baires-Irvin and Leora Ward and junior Stephanie Cowling were second team all-academic selections. Honorable mention honors went to seniors April Holliverse and Shalonda Reynolds, juniors Chloe Jarvis, Cynthia Mallory and Deanna Slaton, sophomores Tamrya d'Artenay, Lindsay Maclise and Abby Parker and redshirt freshman Maja Ruznic.

This marks the third time Conrad and Mazur have received conference all-academic honors, while it is Carballo's second time. First time honorees include Balzer, Ross, Glasgow, Lee and Squires. For the women, Ward and Mallory are the only Golden Bears to previously have been named to the conference's all-academic teams.

First Team Yr. GPA Major
Martin Conrad Sr. 3.60 History and Political Science
Nick Mazur Sr. 3.56 Political Science

Second Team Yr. GPA Major
Jonathan Balzer So. 3.43 Civil Engineering
Greg Ross So. 3.56 Business Administration

Honorable Mention
Carlos Carballo, So.; David Glasgow, So.; Craig Lee, Sr.; Jeff Squires, So.

Second team Yr. GPA Major
Brooke Baires-Irvin Sr. 3.52 Political Science
Stephanie Cowling Jr. 3.55 Sociology
Leora Ward Sr. 3.52 Political Science

Honorable Mention
Tamrya d'Artenay, So.; April Holliverse, Sr.; Chloe Jarvis, Jr.; Lindsay Maclise, So.; Cynthia Mallory, Jr.; Abby Parker, So.; Shalonda Reynolds, Sr.; Maja Ruznic, RFr.; Deanna Slaton, Jr.

Now on Pac-12 Network
4:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder