Eighteen ASU Track & Field Athletes Garner Pac-10 All-Academic Honors

June 18, 2003

TEMPE, Ariz. - Members of the Arizona State track and field teams were honored with Pac-10 All-Academic accolades, the conference announced Wednesday. In all, 11 women and seven men garnered the academic honor with three women earning first team honors.

Leading the way for the women on the first team were Lisa Aguilera (Sr., Peoria, Ariz.), Kelly Burke (So., Tempe, Ariz.) and Cody Sohn (Sr., Carmel, Ind.). Aguilera, the most decorated female in Sun Devil track and field and cross country history, earned her seventh academic honor from the Pac-10 and her first spot on the track and field team's first team. Burke and Sohn both garnered their first academic honors from the Pac-10.

Cynthia Atencio (Jr., Richland, Wash.) and Amanda Lyon (Fr., Phoenix) were named to the second team. Atencio, a three-time selection in cross country including a first-team member in 2002, earned her second track and field nod while Lyon scored her first accolade. Rounding out the women's selections were honorable mention selections Joanie Baca (Sr., Phoenix), 2003 All-American in the 5,000m run Desiree Davila (So., Chula Vista, Calif.), Julia Pedersen (So., Grand Forks, N.D.), Lisa Pohlit (Sr., Tempe) and Jenae Sonne (Fr., Las Vegas, Nev.).

On the men's side, Jay DeGroot (So., Gilbert, Ariz.) and Jeremy Rasmussen (Sr., Glendale, Ariz.) earned a spot on the second team. DeGroot earned his first selection while Rasmussen secured his fifth honor and his second year in a row as a member of the second team. Joining DeGroot and Rasmussen, the 2000 Pac-10 steeplechase champion, were honorable mention selections Kris Alexander (Sr., Franklin, Ind.), Lee Bartes (Jr., Mesa, Ariz.), Jeff Dodge (So., Chandler, Ariz.), Dan Maher (Jr., Tucson) and Juan Reyes (So., Phoenix).

To earn Pac-10 All-Academic honors, the student-athlete had to hold an overall 3.0 or higher grade-point average and either be a starter or significant contributor to the team. ASU's 18 total selections this year is the same as last year with the men having 11 a year ago while the women earned seven honors.

2003 Pac-10 Conference All-Academic Teams
Track and Field (ASU Selection ONLY)
Women (11)
Lisa Aguilera - First Team
Kelly Burke - First Team
Cody Sohn - First Team
Cynthia Atencio - Second Team
Amanda Lyon - Second Team
Joanie Baca - Honorable Mention
Alvina Begay - Honorable Mention
Desiree Davila - Honorable Mention
Julia Pedersen - Honorable Mention
Lisa Pohlit - Honorable Mention
Jenae Sonne - Honorable Mention

Men (7)
Jay DeGroot - Second Team
Jeremy Rasmussen - Second Team
Kris Alexander - Honorable Mention
Lee Bartes - Honorable Mention
Jeff Dodge - Honorable Mention
Dan Maher - Honorable Mention
Juan Reyes - Honorable Mention

Now on Pac-12 Network
6:15 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network