Keith Lewis Included on Thorpe Award Watch List

June 27, 2003

OKLAHOMA CITY - University of Oregon senior safety Keith Lewis has been named as one of 37 leading candidates for the 2003 Jim Thorpe Award in a pre-season 'watch list' released by the Jim Thorpe Association.

Lewis, a second-team all-Pacific-10 Conference pick from a year ago, tied for second in the conference in interceptions his junior season (5) and ranked as Oregon's third-leading tackler (80). He is one of five players from the Pac-10 included on the list and is joined by Washington State's Jason David, UCLA junior Matt Ware, as well as R.J. Oliver and Jason Shivers of Arizona State.

The Thorpe Award, presented annually to the nation's best college defensive back, is one of college football's most sought after and prestigious awards. It is named after history's greatest all-around athlete, a man who excelled as a running back, passer and kicker on offense, but also was an awesome defensive back. Recognized in the Pro Football Hall of Fame simply as 'The Legend', Thorpe also played professional baseball and won Olympic gold medals in the decathlon and pentathlon.

The watch list will be narrowed to 10 semi-finalists the first Monday in November and then to three finalists the Monday before Thanksgiving. The winner will be announced on ESPN's College Football Awards Show, telecast from Disney World on December 11. The official presentation of the award will be in Oklahoma City on February 9.

The watch list is derived through a point system based on All-American teams and Honorable Mentions published in at least six pre-season football magazines. A candidate must be listed as high as third-team All-American in at least one publication or as a fourth team or honorable mention in at least three of these publications. This list is not final. Players not on the list who have exceptional seasons may be added at a later date.


Ryan Aycock, Texas Tech, S, jr.; Rashad Baker, Tennessee, S, sr.; Jamaal Brimmer, UNLV, S, jr.; Ahmad Carroll, Arkansas, CB, jr.; Kentrell Curry, Georgia, S, sr.; Jason David, Washington State, CB, sr.; Vontez Duff, Notre Dame, CB, sr.; Glenn Earl, Notre Dame, S, sr.; Brandon Everage, Oklahoma, S, sr.; Domonique Foxworth, Maryland, CB, jr.; Chris Gamble, Ohio State, CB, jr.; Jabari Greer, Tennessee, CB, sr.; DeAngelo Hall, Virginia Tech, CB, jr.; Marlin Jackson, Michigan, CB, jr.; Kelly Jennings, Miami, CB, so.; Jim Leonhard, Wisconsin, S, jr.; Keith Lewis, Oregon, S, sr.; Justin Miller, Clemson, CB, so.; Medford Moorer, Colorado, S, sr.; R. J. Oliver, Arizona State, CB, jr.; Dakari Pearson, Texas, S, sr.; Etric Pruitt, Southern Mississippi, S, sr.; Keiwan Ratliff, Florida, CB, sr.; Dexter Reid, North Carolina, S, jr.; Lawrence Richardson, Arkansas, CB, sr.; Antrel Rolle, Miami, CB, jr.; Bob Sanders, Iowa, S, sr.; Stuart Schweigert, Purdue, S, sr.; Guss Scott, Florida, S, sr.; Jason Shivers, Arizona State, S, jr.; Maurice Sikes, Miami, S, sr.; Derrick Strait, Oklahoma, CB, sr.; Sean Taylor, Miami, S, sr.; Nathan Vashar, Texas, CB, sr.; Matt Ware, UCLA, CB, jr.; Madieu Williams, Maryland, S, sr.; Corey Webster, LSU, CB, sr.

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network