Matt Ware Named Candidate For Thorpe Award

June 27, 2003

UCLA junior cornerback Matt Ware is among the leading candidates for the 2003 Jim Thorpe Award, have been announced in a pre-season 'watch list' released by the Jim Thorpe Association.

The Thorpe Award, presented annually to the nation's best college defensive back, is one of college football's most sought after and prestigious awards. It is named after history's greatest all-around athlete, a man who excelled as a running back, passer and kicker on offense, but also was an awesome defensive back. Recognized in the Pro Football Hall of Fame simply as 'The Legend', Thorpe also played professional baseball and won Olympic gold medals in the decathlon and pentathlon.

The watch list will be narrowed to 10 semi-finalists the first Monday in November and then to three finalists the Monday before Thanksgiving. The winner will be announced on ESPN's College Football Awards Show, telecast from Disney World on December 11. The official presentation of the award will be in Oklahoma City on February 9.

The watch list is derived through a point system based on All-American teams and Honorable Mentions published in at least six pre-season football magazines. A candidate must be listed as high as third-team All-American in at least one publication or as a fourth team or honorable mention in at least three of these publications. This list is not final. Players not on the list who have exceptional seasons may be added at a later date.


Ryan Aycock Texas Tech S jr

Rashad Baker Tennessee S sr

Jamaal Brimmer UNLV S jr

Ahmad Carroll Arkansas C jr

Kentrell Curry Georgia S sr

Jason David Wash. St. C sr

Vontez Duff Notre Dame C sr

Glenn Earl Notre Dame S sr

Brandon Everage Oklahoma S sr

Domonique Foxworth Maryland C jr

Chris Gamble Ohio St C jr

Jabari Greer Tennessee C sr

DeAngelo Hall Virginia Tech C jr

Marlin Jackson Michigan C jr

Kelly Jennings Miami C soJim Leonhard Wisconsin S jr

Keith Lewis Oregon S sr

Justin Miller Clemson C so

Medford Moorer Colorado S sr

R. J. Oliver Arizona St C jr

Dakari Pearson Texas S sr

Etric Pruitt So. Miss S sr

Keiwan Ratliff Florida C sr

Dexter Reid N. Carolina S jr

Lawrence Richardson Arkansas C sr

Antrel Rolle Miami C jr

Bob Sanders Iowa S sr

Stuart Schweigert Purdue S sr

Guss Scott Florida S sr

Jason Shivers Arizona St S jr

Maurice Sikes Miami S sr

Derrick Strait Oklahoma C sr

Sean Taylor Miami S sr

Nathan Vashar Texas C sr

Matt Ware UCLA C jr

Madieu Williams Maryland S sr

Corey Webster LSU C sr

Now on Pac-12 Network
6:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network