Arizona State Selected To Host 2004 NCAA Women's Basketball First And Second Rounds

June 30, 2003

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. -- Arizona State University was selected as one of 16 hosts for the first and second rounds of the 2004 NCAA Women's Basketball Championship. Wells Fargo Arena on ASU's campus will serve as the site for the games in Tempe.

If the Sun Devils qualify for postseason play in the 2003-04 season, they are guaranteed the opportunity to play at home for the first two rounds of the NCAA tournament.

The Administrative Committee of the NCAA Division I Championships/Competition Cabinet has approved the sites.

The first- and second-round sites for the 2004 championship, which will be held March 20 and 22 and March 21 and 23, are as follows:

Site	                                        HostThe Pit/Bob King Court (15,983)	University of New MexicoAlbuquerque, New Mexico

James H. Hilton Coliseum (14,100) Iowa State UniversityAmes, Iowa

Frank Erwin Center (16,079) University of Texas at AustinAustin, Texas

Pete Maravich Assembly Center (13,340) Louisiana State UniversityBaton Rouge, Louisiana

Cassell Coliseum (10,052) Virginia Polytechnic InstituteBlacksburg, Virginia and State University

McKenzie Arena (12,000) University of Tennessee atChattanooga, Tennessee Chattanooga

St. John Arena (13,276) Ohio State UniversityColumbus, Ohio

Cameron Indoor Stadium (9,314) Duke UniversityDurham, North Carolina

Bridgeport Arena at Harbor Yard (8,754) Fairfield UniversityFairfield, Connecticut

Williams Arena (14,625) University of Minnesota,Minneapolis, Minnesota Twin Cities

Adams Center/Dahlberg Arena (7,321) University of MontanaMissoula, Montana

The Liacouras Center (10,206) Temple UniversityPhiladelphia, Pennsylvania

The Thunderdome (6,000) University of California,Santa Barbara, California Santa Barbara

Joyce Center (11,418) University of Notre DameSouth Bend, Indiana

Tallahassee Leon County Civic Center (11,682) Florida State UniversityTallahassee, Florida

Wells Fargo Arena (14,141) Arizona State UniversityTempe, Arizona

Now on Pac-12 Network
11:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network