2003 Janet Evans Invitational To Start Thursday

July 9, 2003

Olympians Kaitlin Sandeno, Gary Hall Jr., Beth Botsford, Misty Hyman, Stacianna Stitts and Chris Thompson are among the headliners scheduled to compete at the 10th annual Janet Evans Invitational at the USC McDonald's Swim Stadium from Thursday through Sunday (July 10-13).

The Janet Evans Invitational, presented by Speedo, is one of the largest U.S. meets in the nation and is part of the U.S. Grand Prix series. More than 800 swimmers will be in competition, featuring club teams throughout Southern California and much of the Western United States.

The Invitational is named after one of the world's greatest female Olympic swimmers, Janet Evans, who was a four-time Olympic gold medalist and former USC assistant coach.

The meet kicks off on Thursday (July 10) at 5 p.m. with timed finals of the 800m freestyle. Preliminaries will begin at 8:30 a.m. and finals start at 5 p.m. Friday through Sunday.

Results will be available at: at www.usctrojans.com and www.socalswim.org.

Tickets will be available for purchase at the USC McDonald's Swim Stadium each day of the event: $3 for prelims, $4 for finals and $5 for an all-day pass. Children age 6 and under will be admitted free. For more information, call (213) 740-8444.

Now on Pac-12 Network
11:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network