Keller, Cho Win First Races At 2003 Janet Evans Invitational

July 10, 2003

Kalyn Keller (UNAT) and Sung Mo Cho (Mexico) won the women's and men's 800-meter free, respectively, to kick off the first day of the 10th annual Janet Evans Invitational on Thursday (July 10) at the USC McDonald's Swim Stadium in the U.S. Grand Prix meet hosted by USC and presented by Speedo.

Keller, from Los Angeles, swam a 8:33.23, seven one-hundredths of a second off of the meet record set by Janet Evans in 1995 (8:33.16). USC junior-to-be Kaitlin Sandeno was second in 8:38.93 while Alyssa Kiel (Lake Erie), the top seed in the event, was third in 8:02.77. Sandeno led for the first 500 meters, but Keller passed her during the next 100 and never looked back.

Cho won the men's timed final in 8:02.77, touching ahead of Peter Vanderkaay (Club Wolverine, 8:06.75) and Chris Thompson (Club Wolverine, 8:08.27). Thompson entered the meet as the top seed. Like in the women's race, Vanderkaay held the lead for the first 500 yards only to be overtaken by Cho in the next 100. Cho swam a speedy 57.77 in the final 100 to win going away.

The meet continues Friday through Sunday with prelims beginning at 8:30 a.m. and finals at 5 p.m. each day.

Now on Pac-12 Network
4:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network