2002-03 MPSF Year in Review

July 14, 2003

Men's Gymnastics

The Oklahoma Sooners (223.50) made it a four-peat, winning their fourth consecutive MPSF Gymnastics Championship, besting second-place CALIFORNIA (216.025) and third-place STANFORD (215.250).

The Sooners' Josh Landis won the pommel horse with a score of 9.725. Teammate Daniel Furney won the all-around with a mark of 37.550.

California's Graham Ackerman won both the floor exercises (9.700) and the vault (9.450).

Stanford had three individual winners in Marshall Erwin (9.750) on the rings, Kelly Lang (9.350) on the parallel bars and Dan Gill (9.700) on the horizontal bar.

Oklahoma went on to win its second consecutive NCAA championship (222.600), going 26-0 on the season, becoming only the second squad to do so (Ohio State, 1996). The Sooners' had a trio of individual winners, with Landis winning the pommel horse, Jock Stevens taking first in the vault, and Furney winning on the parallel bars. Erwin won the still rings. Furney was named MPSF Gymnast of the Year.

Oklahoma's Mark Williams was named Coach of the Year for the second straight year.

Men's Volleyball

No. 3-ranked Brigham Young upset second-ranked Pepperdine in the MPSF Championship Match (25-30, 31-33, 30-28, 32-30, 15-7). In the NCAA Tournament, Pepperdine and BYU advanced to the Final Four. The Waves fell to Lewis (30-27, 29-31, 30-27, 25-30, 15-13) in the national semifinal, while BYU defeated Penn State (36-34, 30-25, 28-30, 30-26).

In the NCAA title game, the Cougars fell to Lewis in five games (30-27, 29-31, 30-27, 25-30, 15-13).

Hawaii senior outside hitter Costas Theocharidis was named MPSF Player of the Year, Long Beach State setter Tyler Hildebrand earned Freshman of the Year honors, while Tri-Coaches of the Year went to Jeff Campbell of Cal State Northridge, Tom Petersen of Brigham Young and Joe Wortmann of University of the Pacific.

Now on Pac-12 Network
10:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network