Andrew Walter Named To Preseason Davey O'Brien Watch List

July 24, 2003

ASU quarterback Andrew Walter has been named as a preseason candidate for the Davey O'Brien Award, given annually to the nation's top collegiate quarterback.

The list is comprised of 42 Division 1 quarterbacks (listed below) and will be narrowed down to the semifinalists in early November. Three finalists will be chosen later in the month and the winner will be announced on December 11.

Walter is garnering a lot of preseason attention after his record setting 2002 season in which he threw for 3,877 yards, attempted 483 passes and completed 274, all ASU records. His season was highlighted by a 536-yard game against Oregon, which is both an ASU and a Pac-10 single game record.

Walter also holds third-place in the Pac-10 record book for single season passing yards and single season total offense yards (3,661). He also became the only player in Pac-10 history to throw four 400-yard passing games in one season.

This is the first season in which Walter begins as the incumbent starter. Last year he backed up Chad Christensen until the fifth game and never relinquished control of the offense thereafter.

The Sun Devils travel the Camp Tontozona from Aug. 15-23, with a scrimmage scheduled for 10 a.m. on Saturday, August 23. They open the season at home against Northern Arizona on September 6.

The 42 candidates on the watch list are:

Asad Abdul-Khaliq Sr. MinnesotaBrock Berlin Jr. MiamiJon Beutjer Sr. IllinoisCasey Bramlet Sr. WyomingTimmy Chang Jr. HawaiiCasey Clausen Sr. TennesseeRyan Dinwiddie Sr. Boise StateDarian Durant Jr. North CarolinaJosh Fields Jr. Oklahoma StateDavid Greene Jr. GeorgiaGino Guidugli Jr. CincinnatiDarrell Hackney Soph. UABAdam Hall Sr. San Diego StateChance Harridge Sr. Air ForceJosh Harris Sr. Bowling GreenCarlyle Holiday Sr. Notre DameCraig Krenzel Sr. Ohio StateJammal Lord Sr. NebraskaJared Lorenzen Sr. KentuckyJ.P. Losman Sr. TulaneMatt LoVecchio Jr. IndianaScott McBrien Sr. MarylandLuke McCown Sr. Louisiana TechRasheed Marshall Jr. West VirginiaEli Manning Sr. Ole MissZack Mills Jr. Penn StateJohn Navarre Sr. MichiganKyle Orton Jr. PurdueCody Pickett Sr. WashingtonBryan Randall Jr. Virginia TechPhilip Rivers Sr. North Carolina StateChris Rix Jr. Florida StateEll Roberson Sr. Kansas StateBen Roethlisberger Jr. Miami (Ohio)Rod Rutherford Sr. PittsburghMatt Schaub Sr. VirginiaRyan Schneider Sr. Central FloridaBrad Smith Soph. MissouriBradlee Van Pelt Sr. Colorado StateAndrew Walter Jr. Arizona StateBill Whittemore Sr. KansasDanny Wimprine Jr. Memphis

Now on Pac-12 Network
5:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network