Walsh and May Win Huntington Beach Open

Aug. 18, 2003

Huntington Beach, Calif. - The AVP Nissan Series treated thousands of cheering fans at the Huntington Beach Open Saturday to a highly anticipated and grueling battle between the world's best teams in the women's final. The top-seeded duo of Misty May (Long Beach, CA) and Kerri Walsh (Manhattan Beach, CA) clinched their sixth AVP title by outlasting second-seeded rivals Holly McPeak (Manhattan Beach, CA) and Elaine Youngs (Durango, CO) 22-24, 21-17, 15-7. May and Walsh needed a third and deciding game to seal the win as both teams were impressive showcasing their awe-inspiring skills before a 'live' NBC audience.

With the victory, May and Walsh have now beaten McPeak and Youngs all five times this year in AVP matches. 'Emotion helped. Being down a game, we needed more energy and fire. We always have to play at our best to beat them' said May. The Huntington Beach title gives May and Walsh their sixth consecutive championship title in six opportunities this year on the AVP Nissan Series. They also keep their unbeaten streak alive on the AVP, running their match record to an incredible 31-0. Earlier in semifinal action, May and Walsh edged eighth seeds Jennifer Meredith (El Segundo, CA) and Wendy Stammer (Tigard, OR) 21-18, 21-18.

McPeak and Youngs reached the finals by beating fourth seeds Annett Davis (Valencia, CA) and Jenny Johnson Jordan (Tarzana, CA) 21-11, 21-19 in the semis. The win sent them to their sixth AVP title match in seven tries this year. Holly McPeak remains only one win shy of the all-time record of 67 held by Karolyn Kirby. Elaine Youngs finished second in the Huntington Beach tournament in both blocks and aces.

On the men's side, three-time Olympic Gold Medalist Karch Kiraly (San Clemente, CA) and Brent Doble (Dana Point, CA) moved into tomorrow's semifinal after defeating last week's Manhattan Beach Open champions Eric Fonoimoana (Hermosa Beach, CA) and Kevin Wong (Venice, CA) 24-22, 12-21, 18-16. Also moving into the semis is ninth seeds Todd Rogers (Solvang, CA) and Sean Scott (Los Angeles, CA), who beat fourth seeds Scott Ayakatubby (Hermosa Beach, CA) and Brian Lewis (San Clemente, CA) 21-19, 21-19. Fonoimoana/Wong and Ayakatubby/Lewis remain in the tournament, but must win in the contender's bracket in order to reach tomorrow's men's final.

courtesy of AVP

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network