Hoffman Tabbed As Wade Trophy Preseason Candidate

Aug. 19, 2003

ATLANTA, Ga. -- USC women's basketball senior Ebony Hoffman has been chosen among the list of preseason candidates for the 2003-04 State Farm Wade Trophy and NCAA Division I Player of the Year honors. Beth Bass, CEO of the Women's Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA) announced Tuesday, Aug. 19.

USC's Cheryl Miller was the last Trojan to earn the honor in 1985.

The State Farm Wade Trophy, now in its 27th year and named after the late, legendary three-time national champion Delta State University coach, Lily Margaret Wade, debuted in 1978 as the first-ever women's national player of the year award in college basketball. This prestigious award, regarded as 'The Heisman of Women's Basketball,' is organized by the WBCA in conjunction with the National Association for Girls and Women in Sport (NAGWS).

The candidates were selected by a vote of committee members comprised of leading basketball coaches, journalists, and basketball administrators. Members of the committee were asked to name top female players who are most likely to be in contention for the award.

'We are extremely proud to produce for the first-time ever, The State Farm Wade Trophy pre-season list, which boasts the most talented women's basketball players in the nation,' said WBCA CEO, Beth Bass. 'This year's State Farm 'Wade Watch' will once again be competitive and full of excitement.'

The pre-season candidates for The State Farm Wade Trophy, listed in alphabetical order, are as follows:

The State Farm 'Wade Watch' (2003-2004)
Preseason Candidates for the State Farm Wade Trophy

Seimone Augustus, Louisiana State
Jacqueline Batteast, Notre Dame
Alana Beard, Duke
Jennifer Benningfield, Vanderbilt
Tera Bjorklund, Colorado
Rebekkah Brunson, Georgetown
Jamie Carey, Texas
Kaayla Chones, North Carolina State
Shameka Christon, Arkansas
Shyra Ely, Tennessee
Ebony Hoffman, USC
Temeka Johnson, Louisiana State
Chandi Jones, Houston
Ieva Kublina, Virginia Tech
Jennie Lillis, Iowa
Kelly Mazzante, Penn State
Janel McCarville, Minnesota
Giuliana Mendiola, Washington
Loree Moore, Tennessee
Nicole Ohlde, Kansas State
Jia Perkins, Texas Tech
Shawntinice Polk, Arizona
Cappie Pondexter, Rutgers
Nicole Powell, Stanford
Heather Schreiber, Texas
Kim Smith, Utah
Stacy Stephens, Texas
Diana Taurasi, Connecticut
Brandi Teamer, Virginia
Christi Thomas, Georgia
Iciss Tillis, Duke
Kendra Wecker, Kansas State
Lindsay Whalen, Minnesota
Tan White, Mississippi State
Shereka Wright, Purdue

Last year's State Farm Wade Trophy recipient was Diana Taurasi (University of Connecticut). The first recipient of the Wade Trophy was Carol Blazejowski of Montclair State in 1978. Other Wade Trophy/NCAA Division I Player of the Year recipients include many WNBA standouts such as Teresa Weatherspoon (1988), Jennifer Azzi (1990), Rebecca Lobo (1995), Ticha Penicheiro (1998), in addition to; two-time winner Nancy Lieberman (1979 and 1980) and Miller.

Founded in 1981, the WBCA promotes women's basketball by unifying coaches at all levels to develop a reputable identity for the sport and to foster and promote the development of the game in all of its aspects as an amateur sport for women and girls. For more information about the WBCA, please visit our website at WBCA.org.

-- WBCA --